Skip to content

January Daily Arsenal

01/22/2011

Excuse my 'arty' photo. Trying to hide the dust on my lamp!

A glimpse inside the pen jar I keep on my desk. With so many new acquisitions, the heavy rotation jar is getting a bit crowded. I haven’t been traveling as much so I’m using jar rather than a pencil case. What writing instruments are you carrying around these days? I’m looking for some new exciting products to purchase. February is rapidly approaching and that tends to be the month of the year when I do the most pen shopping.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/22/2011 8:22 pm

    I’m usually a fountain penner, but I do have a cup full of colorful pen happiness, all available from your local big box retailers:

    Staedtler Maxum Metallic Gel Pens
    These metallic gels write on *everything* very, very smoothly without globbing or smearing and dry instantaneously. These are the smoothest writing pens I’ve ever held in my hand. They add a glittery kick to a journal page without being too twee.

    Papermate Retractable Gel Pens
    I bought this set specifically for the purple pen. Discovered all the inks are rich and saturated and don’t glob or smear. The pens are wonderfully smooth, easy writers and feel nice in the hand. I was rather surprised at the great performance of these inexpensive pens. (I actually got the set of four with black, blue, purple and red, but couldn’t find a link for it.)

    Staedtler Mars Technical Ballpoint, 0.2mm superfine
    Yes, this is black ink and not so colorful, but this pen is out of the ordinary in that it writes a superfine, finer-than-frog’s-hair, line. It will cause your brain to think out of the box when writing with this Bad Boy. I loves me some Staedtler pens!

  2. 01/22/2011 9:55 pm

    Staedtler Maxum Metallic Gel Pens
    These metallic gels write on *everything* very, very smoothly without globbing or smearing and dry instantaneously. These are the smoothest writing pens I’ve ever held in my hand. They add a glittery kick to a journal page without being too twee.

    I am really glad you mentioned these pens. I’ve been on the fence about them and I hadn’t encountered any proper vetting of them.

  3. howard the gel pen 1.0 permalink
    01/23/2011 6:05 pm

    Hey, I found Pmate rollers with a broad point (1.0) at Office Depot last week; like the write…but then I’m a broad tip guy. Looked at the refills and they are identical to the Uniball 1.0 bold gel refill, not surprising given they are part of same company and probably made in same factory in Japan/China/Korea? Personally, I still like the 1.o Pentel energel better, which fits Uni’s and the Pmate.

    Question: in your pen cup picture, you have 2-3 pens, black with curved and colored short caps–just curious what pens they are? I’m guessing some kind of needle point gel or fiber tip, but am curious. Thx! Keep up fine work.

  4. 01/24/2011 12:48 am

    The pens are from Kmart of all places. They are usually only found during the school supply season. they are ballpoint (1.0) on one end and a highlighter on the other. I hack them with mini gel pen refills and they work wonderfully. They were like 6 (2 of each color) for $2. If you’re interested we could do a swap

  5. 01/24/2011 12:50 am

    Here’s another snap of the pens in question:

    Ta da!

  6. Howardpenjersey permalink
    01/24/2011 1:28 am

    If you’re looking for a new kind of pen and haven’t checked out the Pilot b2P yet, it might interest you–0.7 G2 refill but the clear body is pretty cool–even though I normally like soft grips. But I’ll pass on the swap thanks…

  7. 01/26/2011 5:06 am

    My husband got me some purple Pentel Energels (0.7mm) for Christmas, and I’m surprised at how much I like them! I usually like a finer point, but the balance and weight of the Energel is bringing back my nicer handwriting. I’m using them for everything from note taking to shopping-list jotting. It’s a very pretty purple, but it isn’t waterproof, so I can’t address envelopes with it (found that out the hard way one day when taking my mail to the box in the rain).

    For writing checks, however, I bought a couple medium point Uni-Ball Signo 207’s. I really love Signos. They’re probably the only Uni-Ball product I’ve ever liked. My favorites are the black micro points, of which I have several all over the house, but the medium point works best on check paper.

    I have one Pilot P-500 Extra Fine (0.5mm) that I wish I could still find in stores, because it writes even nicer than the Signo or some other needle-tipped pens I’ve used. It’s also super light.

    My favorite pens of all time, however, are the plain white-and-blue Papermate ball-point stick pens that you can get in a pack of ten for cheap. I don’t use them very much anymore, because my wrist cramps if I write with one too long (unless I have a little cushion thingie around the barrel, but that gets in the way of the cap, or I lose the one pen with the one cushion I’ve broken in . . . ), but I always had the best handwriting while using them and the blue ink is just so lovely and strong! They were my pens of choice in college.

Leave a Reply

