Skip to content

This One Time When I Kept an X-Files Journal…

02/01/2011

photo

Loyal readers might have read when I mentioned the X-Files journals I used to keep:

In these journals were some the most egregious acts of X-files geekiness committed to archival quality paper! We’re talking detailed episode guides, episode lists with legends! Character flow charts, hand drawn maps of various locations depicted in the show, list after bloody list of rants/raves and lawd, help me – some slash and poetry.

photo (1)

Well the wait is finally over. Journey beyond the cut tag…if you dare!

I haven’t be able to ascertain what pen I used for all the black ink writings. Though I suspect it was probably either a an Old School Sharpie Xtra Fine Tip Marker or Le Plume II Dual Tipped Marker. The green pen is definitely a Hello Kitty marker, which is sitting next to me right now. It doesn’t write anymore, but I love the barrel and can’t bear to part with the spent pen. The ashy black ink appears to be the work of a RoseArt stick pen. which was my go-to boring pen at the time.

Image

The Rating System. The episode rating system was often retooled until I came up with what I believed to be a highly rigorous lens in which to measure the quality of each episode. Looking back it seems any episode devoid of ‘shipper goodness was usually assigned that lovely “pile of crap” rating.

The Drinking Game. Here’s an early draft of a drinking game that never saw the inside of any X-files themed viewing party.

Episode Categories. Now here’s where the black oil meets the eyeball socket! Who has time to sift through all the episodes if the intent is to only watch ‘shipper-sodes or – Xena forbid – mythosodes!

Glossary. Do you know your Talitha Cumi from your Syzygy?

Move over TV Guide. Hey, I didn’t have regular access to IMDB back in the day. Besides where can you get this kind of quality analysis? I drew pacman style ghosts, people!

The Key. Another sorting device that seemed like a good idea at the time.

My rendering of the woods as seen in the pilot.

One more for the road! Enjoy! So spill your acts of fandom geekery!!! I showed you mine; now show me yours!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/01/2011 9:29 am

    OK, I”m totally impressed. I would have added, “Anytime Scully whines toward Mulder”, “Anytime there is no recognizable expression on Duchovny’s face”, and “Anytime Skinner flares his nostrils”, but I suppose that would be tipping the booze-o-riffic scales a bit TOO much.

    (I had a film column online at Bandoppler Radio caleld “I’ve Seen Better Film On Teeth”, which I sourced as a line spoken by actor Delroy Lindo in Get Shorty, but I could be misremembering).

  2. 02/01/2011 10:12 am

    I read, “I’ve seen better film on teeth” in an Archie comic circa 1986! I’ve never forgotten it.

  3. 02/01/2011 3:47 pm

    This is just fantastic!

  4. 02/01/2011 4:25 pm

    @dowdyism – Thank you!!! That’s big praise from you.

  5. 02/01/2011 7:29 pm

    I was looking for ‘Ill-timed and ridiculous digression from the Conspiracy’ as a theme for certain episodes…that was always our biggest beef. Just when it seemed like we were getting somewhere, boom! Vampires! A dude made of cancer!

  6. 02/02/2011 1:40 am

    Gosh you really were dedicated! Gotta love a fellow nerd. And your handwriting is great.

  7. 02/02/2011 5:18 pm

    Oh goodness . . . I feel so much better that there is someone else out there as geeky as I was/am. 🙂

    My husband was unpacking boxes of old spiral-bound notebooks I used to carry around in jr. high and high school, which had Star Trek and SeaQuest fanfic in them. I also had a huge spiral-bound dedicated (and entitled in HUGE letters on the front) to my Mary Sue fanfic of the Dragon Lance Chronicles. I think I mainly wrote in pencil in that one, but there’s a nice sampling of my handwriting from jr. high through high school, as I attempted to make an abomination something palatable. 🙂 I’m kind of afraid to ever read it again, but I can’t bear to part from it . . . Keeps me humble, I guess. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention This One Time When I Kept an X-Files Journal… « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

