Skip to content

Yasutomo Liquid Stylist Pen

02/03/2011

Yasutomo Liquid Stylist Pens are completely amazing. Let’s get that out of the way. Babby gifted these to me and I’m afraid I didn’t exactly go bonks about them immediately. I regret this error, but being deprived of their fabulousness, while they stayed safely tucked away in my, “to be reviewed” box on my black modular bookshelf seems like punishment enough.

The ink is incredibly dense, has no strong odor and lays down a line like you wouldn’t believe. I am a bit wary of the new hotness that is liquid pens because when I hear the words, “pen” and “liquid” together this does not conjure images of happiness or Yasutomo Liquid Stylist pens. Nope. The images floating in my head are of ruined pockets, handbags and pencil cases. Exploding pens and misery. All of which are absent when YLS pens are on the case.

The barrel is unremarkable, but that’s fine. The YLS pen doesn’t need a flashy barrel, which would only obscure its endless charms. I have been using the purple and black pens (my set came with red, blue, green, black and purple) and loving them for journaling and drafting to-do lists. The ink doesn’t bleed and is archival quality. And the best part is these babies are inexpensive. The ink performances makes them feel far more spendy than they are. For less than $10 you can bring a home a set of your own. Prepare to be dazzled. If you happen to have these pens and are an artist, please comment so I can see what they can do as far as sketching and whatnot.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/03/2011 4:32 pm

    Oh! This seems like maybe it was made just for me! I must find some!

  2. 02/03/2011 5:01 pm

    When a pen lays down a nice dark line, I worry about how fast it will dry out, but that barrel looks like it holds an ample supply.

  3. 02/03/2011 9:25 pm

    Poplife – I am curious to know how it stands up with an artist.

    Redlami – It’s a concern of mine too. I haven’t used it much lately, but it seems to consistently lay down a nice, dark line. Which hopefully mean it just dies rather than a slow, painful fade out.

  4. Sylvie permalink
    02/05/2011 3:20 am

    I don’t if I can call myself an “artist” but I have used these pens in my sketchbook. I like them okay, but they aren’t really something I could use for more demanding projects.

  5. Jason permalink
    02/06/2011 12:09 am

    Looks like the Sanford/PaperMate Liquid Expresso – not that it’s a bad thing, they’re some of my favorite pens

  6. aliciamaud permalink
    02/15/2011 4:50 pm

    This pen is impressive, especially given the price! For some reason my magenta one is a bit scratchier than the rest…but those others don’t even make a whisper on the paper…especially with better quality paper. I love the color of the blue ink, and have plans to write a couple of letters with the brown one on antique colored paper. These are outdoing my Sharpie Pens so far!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Wrap | PencilWrap.com

Leave a Reply

