Skip to content

One Minute Reviews: Koh-I-noor Hardtmuth Magic Pencils

02/05/2011

Every time I peruse the aisles of big box craft stores I encounter Koh-I-noor Hardtmuth Magic Pencils, usually housed with all the legitimate artistic pencils. Since for the most part I don’t have much use for pencils, I would pass them over, even though they looked fun and are quite cheap. But once in awhile I’d pick one up, fall in love with the weird mix of colors, then remember I’d need to score a fat sharpener, feel overwhelmed and bitter about how high maintenance the cheap pencils were and put them back.

So one day I bought one of those school-supplies-in-a-box sets, which contained a fat sharpener along with a protractor and a compass, which I have about as much use for as the Koh-I-noor Hardtmuth Magic Pencils. The fat sharpener changed the game. Next time I was in proximity of these magic pencils I quickly snapped up a couple of them.

Obviously the more crafty among my readers can find better uses for the magic pencils than sketching three dimensional boxes on index cards while listening to hold music and recorded information played by the Vermont Department of Taxes.

If being trapped on the phone with the Vermont Department of Taxes wasn’t enough, they have to go and throw the world’s longest version of “Magnet & Steel” into the mix. Naturally, I was in the middle of taking the bridge to school when the perky operator answered my call only to be returned to hold where the song seemed to have recycled itself.

With you I’m not shy…With you I might try…For you are the magnet and I am the steel. For you are a magnet and I am the steel. (here’s where it changes) Yooouuuu are the magnet and I am the steeeeeeel… There seems to be some call of hold music law stipulating that “Magnet & Steel” must be immediately followed by “The Logical Song” by Supertramp.

Thank Xena for Olivia Newton John and her immortal classic, “Magic”. That’s my jam. It definitely brightened my time on hold. However, the pen needed sharpening – a frequent problem of theirs – and I was too far away from the sharpener. Oh well.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/05/2011 6:26 pm

    Gosh you learn something new everyday. Never knew something like this existed. They look cool though I imagine they are more of a novelty item than anything else.

  2. 02/05/2011 10:25 pm

    THIS IS SO COOL! I never knew anything like this existed either! Do you know if there are color-changing pens like this too? Imagine being able to write all of your notes in various colors that just flow into each other. =D

  3. Grace permalink
    02/07/2011 2:57 pm

    I’ve seen these pencils on a few different blogs but never seen what it looks like when you write with them. They are so fun! I need to get some.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention One Minute Reviews: Koh-I-noor Hardtmuth Magic Pencils « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

