Skip to content

Tools of the Trade: Binder Clips

02/07/2011

Ahh Binder Clips, those unsung heroes of the office supply world. And like bank tellers, watches and print journalism they are rapidly being rendered obsolete. But before that happens let’s take a moment to celebrate these mighty tools of paper storage.

Besides attaching 34 of them to your face, what other uses do Binder Clips have?

The often fatuous Apartment Therapy suggests using them to organize take out menus. But really, in these hard pressed economic times who has that many take out menus littering their kitchen and exterior doorknob? Oh sure I do my share of taking out, but I don’t need a menu to order a chicken caesar salad!

Personally, I like using Binder Clips to keep my pita chips from going stale. I also use them to keep all my various cards that should probably go into a wallet all nice and orderly. Though if I have so many cards that I need a binder clip to keep them all orderly, perhaps I ought to sort through them and discard all those expired Kohl’s $10 coupons and reward cards to places that have long since gone out of business. I see you, Eckerd’s!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Q.V. permalink
    02/07/2011 6:15 am

    My co-workers all want the clips I got as a gift one year. They are four colours and have “File”, “To Do”, . . . something . . . and . . . something else written on the side. Great for organizing in piles, but I guess those last two aren’t that memorable.

  2. Hillevi permalink
    02/07/2011 7:15 am

    I use a binder clip for attaching outgoing mail to the mail box. I like the tiny wee ones for papers I need to take somewhere for copying, so that they stay in order but don’t get staple marks. Also, I like the noise they make and that noise is excellent for puzzling the dogs.

  3. krissydawn16 permalink
    02/07/2011 11:58 am

    I have a good friend that uses one of the large clips as a money clip – similar to what you do with your cards. One side has all of his cards and the other side is his money. We have all offered to buy him a real money clip, but he has broken several money clips, while the binder clip has held up well. I use one to mark my place in my planner at work. I don’t need to look at the past pages so the binder clip helps me find my place fairly quickly.

  4. Enzo permalink
    02/07/2011 6:25 pm

    The picture is lovely.

  5. 02/08/2011 5:22 pm

    I got into binder clips in a big way when I started teaching. I use them all the time now for holding together stacks of handouts and papers I need to grade. They are my faithful guard against the horror of the spilled file folder. I would be lost without my binder clips.

    My current set are blue and white patterned, similar to the ones in your photo.

  6. 02/08/2011 8:45 pm

    I use a binder clip in my planner, as well! It helps keep all my loose scraps of paper from getting lost.

    I saw an organizing tip on using large binder clips with labels on them to organize papers, files, or magazines on a bookshelf.

    My favorite use for them recently is to clip a paper towel to my son as a bib while he eats his oatmeal. I HATE washing oatmeal out of regular bibs, and I’m not about to buy disposable bibs when paper towels (and binder clips) are cheap and plentiful! 🙂

  7. diysara permalink
    02/08/2011 9:30 pm

    I currently have a binder clip holding my open bag of Skittles closed inside my tote bag. No spilled rainbow yummies for this gal.
    I like using them as picture holders at work. The big ones have a wide enough base to stay nicely and the silver parts hold the paper.
    I’ve used them in the past to keep notebook pages and loose papers in order too. Thats much better than grabbing a notebook out of the tote bag only to find all the little bits have stayed behind.
    Our rattie has a hammock held up with binder clips at this very moment. He hasn’t chewed them at all so I guess he approves of the repurposed office paraphernalia.

Leave a Reply

