Skip to content

Fresh or Tired: Pilot Dr Grip™

02/09/2011

I’m uncomfortable with idea of my pen possessing more education than I do, which might explain why I’ve avoided a pen that seems at first glance to be designed specifically for me. Because I’ve never actually observed any doctor use the Pilot Dr Grip ™ gel pen, I’ve always assumed the name alludes to the pen’s creator and not its intended demographic. While it’s certainly true that a well designed wider barrel pen can ease some of the cramping and difficulties many writers face, but I’m not sure it merely comes down to barrel diameter. Still, because it’s a Pilot product, that by default makes it a hotly discussed pen. My own experience with the pen has been fair to excellent, with my chief quibble being the rubberized barrel making my fingers itch. But Fresh and Tired is not about hearing my thoughts on a product, but it’s an opportunity for you to express yours! So, dear and much valued readers, what do you like or dislike the various models of this pen you’ve encountered.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. freakysparks permalink
    02/09/2011 6:10 am

    you can squish the “rubber” part up into the barrel. getting to see the bare plastic underneath is a thrill.

  2. kerry permalink
    02/09/2011 3:01 pm

    i liked how fat the pen was when I first used one over 10 years ago, but then it got really annoying after a year or two. Now I’m not sure that I could pick it up without cringing. I don’t even remember it writing very well.

  3. 02/09/2011 6:58 pm

    I’m somewhat ambivalent about the Dr. Grip. I’ve had the gel and ballpoint varieties, and really the only reason I bought them was for the larger barrel and fun colors. The ink is meh, and the balance doesn’t really make for very comfortable writing.

    Have you ever hacked one with a nicer ink replacement?

  4. 02/10/2011 3:15 pm

    I’ve never used this particular pen, but I tend to shy away from pens with real squishy grips. I remember feeling this way as far back as elementary school. Perhaps it’s because they don’t feel as stable in my hand.

  5. 02/14/2011 3:31 am

    I tried one of these pens a few years ago in hopes that it would reduce the pain I feel in my hand after long sessions of writing. I was disappointed to discover that (for me, at least) it was not any more comfortable than any other pen.

  6. 02/15/2011 3:35 pm

    I don’t hold my pen very tightly so I like a fat-barreled, squishy-grip pen. But I also find the “Dr.” in the title to be a bit off-putting.

  7. 02/17/2011 10:56 pm

    It is interesting to see the different reactions that the Pilot Dr Grip invokes, it seems that it is one of those pens that you either love or loath.

    For those people that love it sorry to be the bearer of bad news but we have been recently informed by Pilot Pens UK that the Dr Grip pen is to be discontinued.

  8. penacious d permalink
    02/21/2011 7:52 pm

    The thing about these Dr G’s is that the grip really is NOT squishy…certainly not compared with Pilot’s own double layered Dr Grip Center of Gravity pens…which take the much nicer short, fat Pilot ball point refills (mine says RF 15 on it). Which are, BTW, MUCH better-writing than the cheap COG refills (‘super charged’ ink notwithstanding). Pilot doesn’t get the idea of more comfortable grips, aside from the COG…what’s up with that?

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Fresh or Tired: Pilot Dr Grip™ « Does This Pen Write? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

