Skip to content

February Daily Arsenal

02/19/2011

February is the month office supply and big box retailers attempt to entice shoppers into the store with chalky candy Hallmark holidays and tax season office supplies arranged in brightly colored, festive displays for something that is anything but brightly colored and festive. Yes, I find myself more eager in Feb than even August to scope out the bargains – a few stray calendars/planners – and price drops on peripherals they can’t get folks to pay full price for – I see you, novelty 4GB flash drives. I can’t say I’m on the hunt for something specific, but I’m sure I’ll find something worth reviewing here.

so what are you using this month? Any good suggestions for quality pencil cases/cups?

This is the bag I’m currently schlepping my stuff around in. Found it at TJMaxx and couldn’t believe it didn’t have a security tag on it and therefore wasn’t eleventy billion spacebucks. Made by my favorite purveyors of faux leather handbags – Bueno.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/20/2011 12:14 am

    A month or so ago I found a Relic bag at TJ’s that I love. It’s big enough to tote several books as well as my usual purse stuff, and has a black and tan pattern which means it goes with both my winter coats.

    I used to just stick pens in the pockets of my purses but the retractable Sharpie pen disaster broke me of that. Now use a skinny red Staples pen case to hold the pen of the moment (Sharpie pen, now with cap), the secondary pen (Uni-ball signo), a mechanical pencil, a throwaway pen or two, and for some reason a highlighter.

  2. 02/20/2011 1:04 am

    Ooh. That purse sounds dreamy. Also I’m definitely going to seek out some new pencil cases! I didn’t realize Staples has decent ones. Ugh, I just recently had a sharpie RT pen mishap! Very burnt on it. Ruined in the inside of one of my favorite pencil cases.

  3. 02/20/2011 2:45 am

    I’m hoping that February is the month in which I won’t buy any more pen stuff. Hopefully March follows the same rule.

  4. 02/20/2011 11:41 pm

    @peninkcillin haha. Me too. what are you buying these days?

  5. 02/21/2011 5:18 pm

    I found a cute locking pencil case at Walgreens. It’s not high quality, by any means, but keeps my 3-yr-old son from stealing my pens and coloring on any paper (fortunately he searches for paper) in the vicinity. It was billed as a “grafitti box”, meaning you can color all over it to personalize it. If I knew where my Sharpies were . . . Heh, but, again, I’d have to do it out of view of my 3-yr-old, lest he get any ideas. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tools of the Trade: Pencil/Pen Cases « Does This Pen Write?

Leave a Reply

