Skip to content

Fresh or Tired: Uni-Ball Signo

03/05/2011

It’s time for another installment of Fresh or Tired! Today we dish the Uni-ball Signo 207, which I recently picked up from Staples for $.50 a piece! Impulse cashwrap purchases FTW!

I like how it writes, but the barrel design does nothing for me. I won’t even mention the retractable toggle situation!

Now it’s your turn. Have you used this pen?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/05/2011 2:27 pm

    I DO like these, especially for writing checks and such, but I also hoard a small amount of the purple ones just for my own pleasure, usually for journal writing and jotting things in my schedule book. Reasonably comfortable to the hand, not too skritchy, though they diminished somewhat in my esteem when I discovered the Zebra Sarasa with its gorgeous forest green dusty blue, and cranberry (not red) ink offerings.

  2. Paul Peterson permalink
    03/05/2011 2:28 pm

    I love the Uni-Ball Signo series. Especially the micro (.5mm) size. But, like you, I think the looks of the barrel need some updating.

    At $.50 a piece, I probably would have bought the entire supply!

  3. ccorrada permalink
    03/05/2011 2:42 pm

    Uni-Ball Signo is the best! I too prefer the Micro, but at $0.50 Paul would have had to share the trove treasure with me!

  4. 03/05/2011 8:16 pm

    I haven’t used this one but I’m always under the impression that Uni-Ball pens are very high quality because I’ve had a few rollerballers in the past that I absolutely adored.

  5. 03/05/2011 10:19 pm

    They’re my go-to pens. I like the medium points for writing checks, and when I’m in a mood for bolder writing, but I prefer the micro for everything else. It’s just so smooth and lovely for a fine-tipped gel pen! 🙂 And that’s saying something for Uni-Ball, because I’ve always disliked their other fine-tipped pens (though my husband really loved them). They were too scratchy, skippy, bleedy, and leaky.

    The barrel is kinda meh, and I do get kind of tired after using it for a while, but it’s comfortable enough, and recognizable. I like to have several around the house, wherever I might need a pen.

  6. 03/06/2011 12:56 am

    Hmm. I still have one of these, and I used to be a huge Uniball fan, but these days it seems I’ve moved on, and I feel that Sharpie pens offer a much higher degree of control. I’ll take a Signo over a Vision, though, because I like that they’re refillable (I’m sad the Sharpies aren’t).

  7. 03/06/2011 10:46 am

    I think the barrel and grip are better in looks and functionality than the Sarasa pens and look better but do not work as well as the Pilot G2’s ones.

    I kinda like the design of the 207 because it has originality in it but the truth is it does not perform as good as it looks.

  8. 03/06/2011 7:09 pm

    While I definitely agree that the Signo 207 is a good quality pen, my personal reaction to using it is, “Meh.” I kept one on my desk for a while as a back-up to my preferred pen (of the moment), a Pentel EnerGel. However, when my d–n boy cat peed on the Signo, I tossed it and never bothered to get a replacement.

  9. penacious d permalink
    03/06/2011 7:31 pm

    I’m with TonyB; the Energel is a far better write–more fluid, less scratchy. BUT the EnerGel refills DO FIT the Uniball Signos–at least the Uniball 207 Premier, which I like for the gel grip.

    I like the G2 refills best, but can’t figure out how to fit em in the 207 Premier barrel…has anyone else tried?

    (I do really enjoy another UniBall, though, the the Jetstream (again, especially the Premier), which is my go to pen in 1.0… G2 I can do in either 1.0 or .7…Preferring to be bold…

  10. Tara permalink
    03/08/2011 3:40 pm

    I love Signo 207s. I have all the colors, tips and sizes. Could it look better and updated? Sure. But do I care more about how my writing works or the pen’s look? I’m one of those picky types that can’t take bubbles or skipping when I write (or I re-write the whole thing)… So for me, Signo 207s are the way to go! I love that they now have two different types of tips (regular and needle) and the two different sizes… If you are a big Signo fan, try checking out the variety on http://www.jetpens.com. There you can find pen/pencil hybrids and others using the same Signo 207 ink!

  11. Kim permalink
    03/08/2011 5:08 pm

    Signo 207 is my favorite pen. I write with no other, if I can help it.

  12. Lacy Hanson permalink
    03/08/2011 6:15 pm

    I’m a huge Uni-ball fan – but not the products they sell in the US. I have yet to find one that writes consistently the way I like. I think they need to expand their US line to include their Asian line.

  13. penacious d permalink
    03/08/2011 6:49 pm

    Lacy: when you talk about the Asian line are you referring to the Jet Pens Uniballs, or to other sources, and if so can you share what those other sources are?

    thanks

  14. Yvonnesita permalink
    03/10/2011 6:40 pm

    I would love the see the Signo 207 barrel updated, but as far as the writing, Love It!
    I too wish it came in a more variety of Colors.

  15. Adam permalink
    03/10/2011 11:02 pm

    I love this pens I have 3 (two black and one blue) and refill pack for the old black one (pen).
    The Pen are smart look and long lasting.
    The updated of the barrel is no big thing and of the pen works right !

  16. Messmer permalink
    03/29/2011 7:20 pm

    I was using them… I turned to Noodler’s black. I like the way they write but they are not cheap. Also, I prefer to use FP when I need to handwrite. I’m a slow writer anyway… But still, I keep some in my backpack for when I’m out of ink or can’t use a FP.

Leave a Reply

