Skip to content

Tools of the Trade: Pencil/Pen Cases

03/07/2011

Recently the lovely Michelle Galo mentioned her pencil case from Staples and it put me in the mood to go off hunting for some new ones. I don’t require those to be clear and prefer they aren’t. My only mandate was they couldn’t cost more than $3.00. So let’s see what I found!

I found this set hiding underneath a host of nasty smelling perfume sets in the large, sad after-holiday 75% bin at Wally World. I find cosmetic cases tend to be better constructed and less prone to be completely destroyed by unfortunate pen mishaps. The cost = $.75!

This one’s from Michaels and it set me back a mere $1.00. It was hiding out in one of those $1 craptorium bins in the useless cheap crap aisle that is often my undoing. Nothing in there works well or for very long. This case is pretty, but not especially functional. It doesn’t expand wide enough for the needs of die hard pen enthusiasts. At most I could get five pens, but the case didn’t look like it could handle more punishment than that.

This is actually an old one I found while decluttering! It was a gift so I have no idea where it was purchased. And it was given to me six or seven years ago. I tend to use this more as a wallet than a purse. Usually I keep my paper money in my bra and now I can keep it in my undies.

I was bummed when this pen case got all raggedy some months back. That is until I found an identical replacement on clearance at Borders! for $.50 I was in pen case heaven. I love this one because it expands to fit a great many pens while taking up very little space in my bag.

Where do y’all find cool pencil/pen cases?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/07/2011 9:26 am

    Jet pens for me – just bought a Nomadic Tri Fold that I love. It has “slots” for all my pens & pencils, which means they don’t get scratched by each other the way they would in a “pocket” type case. Shipping was a little eyewatering to the UK, but no supplier here has anything like it.

  2. Kerry permalink
    03/07/2011 1:19 pm

    I actually found one of mine at a Barnes & Noble in Atlanta years ago – it was designed by a student at Savannah College of Art & Design (SCAD) and it’s navy & golden orange. just beautiful.

  3. 03/07/2011 1:28 pm

    I found several cosmetic cases (unused) at a thrift shop on half price day. So far those are helping me avoid the Nomadic case at JetPens that keeps haunting me ^^

  4. 03/07/2011 1:35 pm

    I have lusted after those Nomadic cases at JetPens. LUSTED. I just can’t justify the expense. Can’t have the case be worth more than the contents inside! 🙂

  5. 03/07/2011 3:21 pm

    Cosmetic cases, what a great idea! Using a pen case is a new thing for me and while I like my Staples case, I really haven’t found much else to compare to. Now I know where to look if I want a bigger case…

  6. 03/08/2011 2:14 am

    Some of those Jetpens cases are very nice and I would love to get a couple (because my pens won’t fit in just one) but they are too expensive. The ones you presented are nice but too girly, and I’m a guy 🙂

  7. 03/10/2011 10:36 am

    Right, you’ve all inspired me to try and convince you that you NEED a Nomadic pencil case.

    Here’s why the Nomadic PE-10 is the best pen/pencil carrying device known to mankind.
    http://monkeyphotomcr.blogspot.com/2011/03/nomadic-pe-10.html

    (Although I am rather taken with the pants style case pictured above. Sigh.)

Leave a Reply

