Skip to content

Pilot G-Tec-C4

03/11/2011

The Pen Addict made an awesome haul video, (you should definitely check out if you haven’t already) and mentioned the the Pilot G-Tec-C4 pen, which I convinced me to give it a tumble. I was lucky that in my Pilot care package there was two packs of these pens.

I’ve mentioned before that I don’t often use Pilot pens, despite not really having anything against their writing performance or their price point. Mostly because Pilot doesn’t make many models featuring barrel designs that I actually like. I know, it’s totally shallow. That said, I do use the gel refills in nearly every pen I own that compatible with them.

The barrel reminds me of the Barnes & Noble gel pens I reviewed back in January. And that’s cool. I like that style of gel pen. I also like how this pen performs. It was comfortable, which is a welcome surprise since I find thinner barreled pens fatiguing with extended use. The G-Tec-C 4 has nice hand feel and I didn’t experience any of the pinching or cramping I’ve come to associate with stick pens. Because these pens lay down an extremely fine line they probably won’t make it into my daily arsenal; I like 1.0mm (I know, shoot me) but they were fun to draft neatly written to-do lists and Thank You cards!

The Bottom Line

great for fine line enthusiasts
refillable!
reasonably priced at $3.99 for a two pack
Pilot quality writing performance
attractive barrel design

One Comment leave one →
  1. 03/20/2011 2:59 pm

    I picked up one of these a while ago. As my writing is fairly small, I thought it would add some extra definition. The line it draws is lovely and thin, without being too scratchy which was a nice surprise.

    However, for some reason when using this pen, the neatness of my handwriting goes out of the window! I really don’t know why. I’d dearly love to be able to use this pen on a day to day basis, but just can’t put up with the scruffy results.

    Maybe it’s due to the long(ish) and flexible nib?

Leave a Reply

