Skip to content

Piccadilly Graph Notebooks From Borders

03/21/2011

Notebook Stories wrote a post about Picadilly Moleskine knockoff notebooks:

But what will happen now? Borders has been having financial difficulties, and as I write this, it looks like they’re in the final stages of preparing a bankruptcy filing. I wonder how much money Piccadilly is owed by Borders, and whether the company can survive having their exclusive retailer go bankrupt? If you’re a Piccadilly fan, now might be a very good time to stock up…

That’s all the motivation I needed to get my hands on a couple of these notebooks. In the past I’ve purchased them for Babby, who seem to like them quite a bit, but I hadn’t used them myself.

Ooh, if you look closely you can see my big hair and one of what I’m sure is a medium gray sweater, which I seem to amass by the millions.

via Borders website listing for the item!

From my limited use of the product I would say they are faithful approximations of the more spendy Moleskine product if one is only interested in appearance rather than both appearance and performance. Performance wise, I wasn’t that impressed with their ability to handle liquid ink, Sharpie pens or especially globby gel pens. But I chalked it up to a quality control issue rather than something inherent flaw of the product across the board. In any event, these are a great starter notebook for someone who wants the feel of a Moleskine, but isn’t ready to commit to the cost. I too wonder what will become of them if Borders eventually goes the way of Ames and Builders Emporium.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/21/2011 3:39 pm

    As far as I understand, Borders isn’t going fully out of business, but is downsizing their stores and reorganizing financially. They’re still in business online and keeping a few, more-productive stores open. Unfortunately, they’re closing the only Borders on our peninsula, and we have to pay a toll to get to the one across the water, so I probably won’t be frequenting Borders much anymore.

  2. Connie permalink
    03/22/2011 12:49 am

    The only Borders near where I live has closed down. It says on the Piccadilly website that Barnes & Nobles carries their products, too. I’ll have to go down and check (the prices are about two dollars more on the website, plus shipping… ugh.)

  3. noisician permalink
    05/10/2011 3:17 pm

    I never found any quality problem with the Piccadilly books I’ve used, and I like the fact that they offer a larger hardcover book than Moleskine has, and it’s still about 1/2 the price of the smaller Moleskine.

Leave a Reply

