Skip to content

Filthy Farmgirl Soap!

03/29/2011

A recent outing to the local hippie food store introduced me to Filthy Farm Girl soaps! For fans of organic, vegan cleansing options that also smell delicious without being harsh on the skin, you’re in for a real treat!

From Filthy Farmgirl’s website:

Being good to the earth starts with being good to ourselves, and our friends. Healthy happy (and yes, clean) people are intrinsically good for the earth! We believe our soap puts people in touch with the earth though their senses, and enlivens the otherwise mundane ritual of washing. We have been making soap for ourselves for years, and now we are rockin’ out, putting quality bath products into the hands of like-minded farmgirls and farmboys like you! We grow and harvest many of our herbs and spices ourselves, and go out of our way to support local organic farmers whenever possible.

Filthy Farmgirl's Filthy Freak soap

I’ll be honest, what initially drew me to the products were the adorable packages (which are made with 100% recycled paper) and the silly names. Once my interest was piqued, I was hypnotized by the wonderful scents the soaps came in. As a soap fan, I am kind of picky about scents. I love earthy and food smells and absolutely loathe the scent of “soap”. It reminds me of washrooms.

Vanilla Bella, nearly two weeks later after regular daily use.

Another barrier to fully embracing hippie soaps is from a cost benefit perspective. In the past I had to sacrifice value and durability for feel goodery indulgence. Thankfully, that’s not the case here. These are some durable, brick like slabs of scented sustainability. When used with washcloth, puff or sponge FFG soaps lather up impressively. Moreover, a few thin shavings yield a tub filled with PG-13 coverage bubbles.

You can practically smell that hippie goodness.

Despite loving baths, soaps and being clean, I don’t always cotton to the process of getting clean. Never mind, I always feel better after showering or taking a bath, if it’s been a day (and I’m not around people) inertia sets in and it takes a lot of applied force to overcome it. This is where Filthy Farmgirl soaps makes good on its, “enlivens the otherwise mundane ritual of washing” claim. I actually look forward to showering simply because I get to use this soap. In fact, I’m kind of bummed that I showered earlier today and can’t take one now (sensitive skin and I have forged an uneasy truce with regards to winter time showering).

and yet another view!

Filthy Freak: smells of blood orange, spearmint, clove and is divine. As with all of the soaps I own of theirs, this one washes away completely, leaving no residue and a light scent, which lasts all day.

Vanilla Bella: smells like REAL vanilla bean and not that weird glade plug in style chemical smelling vanilla scent. Sometimes I even use this one on my face and it feels so soft afterwards!

A complete list of flavors can be found here. As for price. I scored the soap for $5 and it was money well spent. The soaps come in two sizes and if you can’t find it at your local hippie food store, you can order it directly from the company (with FREE SHIPPING)!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    04/01/2011 2:06 am

    I ordered some after seeing your post. I’m hoping they make a librarian soap one day.

  2. 04/03/2011 10:27 am

    @Jenny – for some reason I thought they did make a Librarian soap! I’ll investigate and get back to you.

  3. Leah permalink
    04/05/2011 8:21 pm

    So, I ordered some of this soap based on your recommendation, and I am so happy!!! I’m not sure if you knew this, but wanted to tell you I bought two large soaps and they sent a free small “filthy beaver” soap. Not bad for free shipping!

Leave a Reply

