Skip to content

A Birthday Pen and Post: 4 in 1 USB Pen

03/31/2011

How much do I love Shtick or novelty pens? So much so that I actively seek them out in their natural habitat – chain drugstores and dusty clearance sections in big box office supply stores. Hot Concepts USA’s 4 in 1 USB Pen stopped me in my tracks. I love companies like Hot Concepts USA with their sundry of mostly useless gougeables that totally seem like a good idea when you’re waiting in a very long line at Rite-Aid and there is only one (slow) cashier selling lotto tickets to someone whose other items – usually tiny things or 75% seasonal candy – will not scan properly.

According to the packaging this pen is a:

1) Pen
2) USB 1GB Flash Drive
3) LED Light
4) Laser Pointer

Like every 12 year old, I love laser pointers but have absolutely NO use for them. Yet, whenever tempted by a similar product the absence of a laser pointer is a deal breaker. Not that they ever work right. So it is with both this laser pointer and the ridiculous LED light at the top of the pen. I tested both and they performed as one would expect for a pen you paid $2.50 for after digging through a random crap bin located just to the right gift card rack.

It writes surprisingly well, though I have no idea if I’ll be able to refill the pen. I’m kind of afraid to take it apart anymore than indicated for fear of voiding the 2 minute limited warranty. If it’s anything like my Executive Style 4-in-1 pen I’m sure eventually I’ll stumble upon refill solution that doesn’t destroy the pen. But for $2.99 – yep, that’s what I paid – if it even works as a flash drive it’s already paid for itself many times over.

In other news:

IT’S MY BIRTHDAY. Was that tacky? I was supposed to do a birthday haul video but I got sidetracked with this pen, which is now kind of my favorite. Anyway, stay tuned; a birthday haul soon.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/31/2011 4:20 pm

    Happy Birthday!! I hope this next year is your best ever!! I love it that you love Leverage – who’s your favorite character, and why? What about NCIS? Do you love that Beth Reisgraf plays McGee’s girlfriend?!!

  2. 03/31/2011 11:55 pm

    Lasers are the perfect toy if you have a cat or dog. They’ll happily chase that little red dot for hours, as long as you let them ‘catch’ it once in a while. By the way, happy b’day.

  3. Jex permalink
    04/01/2011 4:15 am

    Happy Birthday! Although this has nothing to do with your fancy new pen, I would like to thank you for my newfound addiction to Murder She Wrote, a show which began filming before my husband was born, and which I would never have thought to watch without you talking it up.

  4. 04/03/2011 10:24 am

    @simplytrece: ooh. I’m a big fan of Leverage. I think Eliot is my fave – but it’s so hard to choose cause I love them all, even Nate!

    NCIS, I want to love it more, but I barely tolerate it. Though I do love the LA version.

    I write about Leverage quite a bit:

    Leverage: The Top Five List Job

    Leverage: The Season Three Job

    Overrated/Underrated: TV Shows which oddly enough features a blurb about both Leverage and NCIS!

    Thank you for the the kind birthday wishes!!! Glad you stopped by.

  5. 04/03/2011 10:25 am

    Happy Birthday! Although this has nothing to do with your fancy new pen, I would like to thank you for my newfound addiction to Murder She Wrote, a show which began filming before my husband was born, and which I would never have thought to watch without you talking it up.

    Ooh, are you going in chronological order or just catching eps as they air? Season 4 and 5 tends to be my favorite, and the Magnum PI crossover is the living end.

  6. 04/03/2011 10:26 am

    Lasers are the perfect toy if you have a cat or dog. They’ll happily chase that little red dot for hours, as long as you let them ‘catch’ it once in a while. By the way, happy b’day.

    This is useful information when I visit my parents. The girls (chocolate lab and bischon) will probably had too much fun chasing the red dot.

  7. 04/03/2011 5:51 pm

    OMG – someone who remembers Matt Huston!! One of my favorite shows of all time!!!

Leave a Reply

