Skip to content

One Minute Reviews: Office Max Rubberized Grip Ballpoint Pens

04/10/2011

It’s a shame that Office Max is phasing out their Rubberized Grip Ballpoint pens because they are a real classy writing instrument. I was fortunately to score this set of 12 for $3, but the excited of the haul is mitigated by their looming erasure from the market place. Or is it?

While it seems this particular model is going the way of Hyper-Color clothing and Hammer pants, Office Max has another model that’s similar in barrel design, but I found the ink quality and writing performance decidedly less satisfying. Still, since I purchased two sets, I’m sure it’s a concern I can table for a least a month.

The barrel design is similar to any number of modestly priced stick pens, though the barrel is hair thicker in diameter, which already makes it a super star in my book. My preference for a more substantial barrel is not simply a matter of aesthetics, but also of comfort. I find slimmer barrels fatiguing despite the presence of rubberized grips, which, for the record, I don’t find all that helpful. Normally, I remove the rubberized grips and have a collection of them in a small Sterilite flip top plastic container.

I admire the aspirational looks of the barrel, which might attract non discerning pen thieves who will ultimately be disappointed with the flimsy feel of the barrel. Don’t get me wrong; it looks great, but it’s not going to stand up to lots of serious scribbling. So if you’ve got poison pen letters to write or angry notes to leave on someone’s windshield, this might not be the pen for you. One strongly worded letter is liable to make this pen snap in half.

The ink is gorgeous and the pen yields a consistent line. Of the three, the red ink gave me the most trouble, but since I don’t use red ink ever, it’s not a great loss. The black emerged as my favorite and I have been cannibalizing the ink cartridges and using them in other pens. So technically, this is currently my most used pen. I have to say I continue to be impressed with Office Max house brand writing instruments. I haven’t found any that failed to live up to my expectations and sometimes, like with the case of this here ink, they even exceed my expectation. That’s pretty impressive given whenever I’m browsing Office Max I am easily distracted away from their house brand items in favor of their boutique line (TuL) which often causes me to scoff at its relative spendiness.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lawful0evil permalink
    04/11/2011 5:07 pm

    They look pretty but they wouldn’t do for me, I have deathgrip. Thanks for the warning!

  2. Amber permalink
    04/17/2011 6:06 pm

    I DO love the retractable version as well! They are great for everyday pens. (Or loaners for my students who come unprepared.)

Leave a Reply

