Skip to content

One Minute Reviews: Magna Blast Vs. @ The Office Pens

04/16/2011

Whether they’re called Magna Blast/Tank or Wal-Mart @the Office Gel Pens these thick barreled brightly hued gel pens are real showstoppers at a door busting price!

In researching the demise of the Inc. version of the pen it seems there is host of unsubstantiated rumors and tawdry doings as to how Wally World suddenly began selling a pen that looked exactly like one they no longer carry! If anyone knows the real story – actually if there is a rivalry between Peachtree Playthings and Inc/Megabrand that would make for a riveting episode of This American Life – chime in!

If there are massive differences in barrel design someone with a more discerning eye is welcome to point them out to me! Because they look pretty similar to me.

I’m fairly convinced they are in fact the same pen, given in both cases neither Teal pen could hold its ink! What do you think?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. diysara permalink
    04/19/2011 1:00 pm

    I haven’t tried The Office kind yet. I’ve had my Magna Tanks for awhile… I guess I’m lucky my teal pen hasn’t burped.
    What happened? It just exploded?

  2. 04/20/2011 2:13 am

    I’m not quite sure what happened. One day it was was fine and I came back and it had horked inside the cap!

  3. Donnie permalink
    04/20/2011 10:47 pm

    I have both versions of the regular colors. I did a side by side analysis with the purple pens and the MagnaTank seemed to have a bit darker ink than the @theoffice pen. But I haven’t really tried the other colors yet to see if it was just a fluke.

  4. 05/14/2011 8:31 pm

    I recently discovered the MagnaTanks. They had a nice looking package at Sam’s Club, and since the better half and I are always looking for a better pen (one that writes smoothly and has a thin point), we took a chance. I like the ink, but the pen has been a bit disappointing. It often skips when it comes to the ink, making for an uneven writing experience. At this point, I am hoping it was just a bad batch of pens, but I probably would not buy them again.

    I recently discovered your blog while looking for some blogs on writing. I am finding your reviews very useful and interesting.

    Best, and keep on blogging.

  5. 05/14/2011 8:34 pm

    I think the green and the orange inks might also differ slightly.

  6. 05/14/2011 8:36 pm

    @Angel – THANK YOU!!! 🙂 I think there are some bad batches of these pens circulating. The most recent pack I bought, the purple pen (rather than the blue one) exploded inside the cap. Welcome to the blog and I hope you stick around and surf around the archives.

  7. rcagirl07 permalink
    09/02/2011 4:44 am

    A few Christmases ago, I gifted myself with these pens, not realizing what an amazing gift they were! I love the pens but unfortunately am all out and have not found anymore. Do they sell somewhere else now, or are they just discontinued?

  8. Trisha permalink
    12/27/2013 10:14 pm

    these thick pens are really convenient for those who have arthritis in their hands and holding pens can be painful. I would like to warn people that this is not permanent ink and will wash out with water.

Leave a Reply

