Skip to content

Foray® Liquid Rollerball Pen vs. Wal-Mart @ The Office: The Aqua Edition

04/24/2011

Foray® Liquid Rollerball Pen and Wal-Mart @ The Office Pens are faves mine and I decided to cage match them to see which pen would emerge victorious!

Of this pen I once wrote:

“I have a thing for turquoise/aqua ink, which I don’t really understand since it doesn’t often show well on white paper. This one reminds me of the Inc Brand “Megatank” or whatever they’re call, which I can’t seem to find anymore. It writes smoothly and lays down a pretty sweet looking line.”

Of the @ the office pens I wrote:

“While all the colors are lovely, I prefer the blue and the purple for daily use. I should have gotten a few more packs, but for now I’m content to fondle and test drive these pens until they go dry, which based on my previous experience with them, won’t be for a very long time.”

The @ the office pens have a tendency to pool ink around the nib, which sometimes makes them messy writing instruments. The Foray pen doesn’t do this. Also the Foray pen gage is smaller. 0.7mm to be exact.

Side by side comparison of the grip. Hands down, the @ the office pen has a more comfortable grip (in my opinion).

The ink color seems identical. Of course someone with a better eye for color than me can probably tell me otherwise!

The ink pooling is really the only problem I have, but it’s serious enough to give this round to the Foray pen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/27/2011 2:25 pm

    It appears that the Foray is a slightly deeper looking aqua to me, if I were going to pick one up based off the color I’d probably pick up the Foray. But I have a fondness for the liquid roller ball type pens- my favorite are the Pilot Precise V5 or V7 (I have both) so I probably ought to check them out. The Foray aqua reminds me of the Pilot Precise aqua, and so that may just be my prejudices showing.

  2. Pow permalink
    08/31/2011 6:30 am

    I intended on buying another pack of “@the office” pens for the new school year, but it seems that they are nowhere to be found. Would you happen to know where I could purchase them or possibly, a similar pen that works just as well? I enjoy using gel pens.

Leave a Reply

