Skip to content

Fresh or Tired: Pentel R.S.V.P.®: Medium Line Ballpoint Pen

05/04/2011

The Pentel R.S.V.P.® ballpoint stick pen is one of those loss leader I never recall purchasing yet somehow end up having a dozen of! I have no idea how these pens make their way into my home, but I would guess they are left here by unsatisfied customers, who think I won’t notice.

I love the bright pink translucent barrel, but not much a fan of the black rubberized grip. I know these are the inspiration to countless knockoffs, and I can’t say they perform any better. It’s a nice writing experience, but by no means special or memorable. Still I know these pens have their fans. Whenever I give one to a sales clerk they seem pleased. Though maybe they’d be pleased by the donation of any pen!

Here’s a closeup of the meh rubberized grip. I just never like the way those feel between my fingers. Kind of slimy without actually be slime covered or wet.

Writing sample denotes decent performance, but again, not going to set the world ablaze. Now it’s your turn to tell me what you think of this pen. I’m especially interested in hearing from those who really love these pens.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosecampion permalink
    05/04/2011 10:38 pm

    I like a nice pentel rspv okay and it’s always very nice to run across one at work at the bookstore, but then anything is better than the cruddy cheap ballpoints provided for us. But I wouldn’t go out and buy them.

  2. Jennifer permalink
    05/05/2011 3:30 pm

    These were my go-to pens during my finals year last year! I loved them because they were decently comfortable (I have a wonky super-low grip that makes most pen grips irrelevant anyway), had dark ink which was mostly smooth (the occasional globbing irritated me a LOT when it happened, though), and it wasn’t the end of the world if I lost one in the library or to a pen-thieving friend. I probably used up a dozen black ones and three or four blue ones over the course of revision and exams.

    Then I discovered Jetstreams and Suraris and suddenly my relationship with the stolid old RSVP went stale. A bit like my highschool boyfriend. I still keep some around, but they don’t get much action anymore, only the occasional scribbled shopping list or other throwaway piece of writing, because they’re just not that special.

  3. 05/05/2011 9:11 pm

    I think at some point in college I must have liked these pens. I am pretty sure the ones I keep finding around my place are from that era, based on the boxes where they are likely to turn up. I don’t think they’re terrible; just meh. But I have a couple of friends who swear by them. They also seem to be the kind of people who love those papermate stick pens that come in the teal barrel.

  4. 05/06/2011 11:12 pm

    I used to love RSVP pens with a crazy passion. A few years ago I noticed my local 99 cent store had the discontinued retractable RSVP pens. Jackpot! I bought almost all they had and put them in a drawer away from all other office supplies. (My precious) I guess the fever passed because I still have too many unopened packages of RSVP pens.

  5. 05/06/2011 11:14 pm

    I used to love RSVP pens with a crazy passion. A few years ago I noticed my local 99 cent store had the discontinued retractable RSVP pens. Jackpot! I bought almost all they had and put them in a drawer away from all other office supplies. (My precious) I guess the fever passed because I still have too many unopened packages of RSVP pens. Want one?

  6. 05/07/2011 2:30 pm

    I’d take one of these over several other types of ballpoint pen, but, give when we have now in the ballpoint world, these are most certainly tired. ZZzzz…..

  7. 05/09/2011 5:48 am

    I used to absolutely love these pens. But now I can’t remember why. Honestly, all I remember now, looking back, is how often I’d smudge the ink and get ink all over my hands and the page. I think maybe the ink has hypnotic powers, leading to an initial period of intense infatuation until you come to your senses.

  8. 08/21/2011 6:02 pm

    I used to buy the big multi-color packs, my BFF was a fine point fan and I liked the bolder medium point… Totally understand the “slimy” feeling though! The older ones weren’t the same, I think they were more rubbery and less plasticky-feeling?

  9. editrickster permalink
    12/10/2011 2:28 am

    I used to work at an art supply store and we sold the hell out of these (it was the late 90s and gel pens and regular pens were a big side item). I liked the way the ink glided across the paper, but I agree with you about the rubberized grip! The color was way too harsh against the pink, and I usually ended up peeling the grips off, slowly.

    I bought a special stash of my own (little half-sized versions) when I worked as a copy editor at a newspaper, but I usually managed to lose them under stacks of proofs. They definitely did not jump out at you on a cluttered desk.

Leave a Reply

