Skip to content

Zig Millennium Pen in Pink and Violet

05/12/2011

Normally I shun pink ink due to its tendency to be unreadable. It was dark and looked wonderful on the page. I suspect the 05 is the best nib size for my handwriting, the speed in which I write and the way I hold pens. Anything smaller and it comes out too scratchy.

I also realized the key with using these pens is to hold the nib straight down, rather than approach the page at an angle like I often do with ballpoint or gel pens. I know a lot about pens as it relates to products and such, but I don’t actually know much about proper technique. So changing the angle of the nib as it hits the page was a pretty big breakthrough for me. How sad is that?

This pen was a bit of a head scratcher. Based on the cap color I assumed it would be the shade of the Pure Pink pen, but instead it was a super dark purple. I adore the color, but honestly, if I purchased this pen based on the cap cover – like say if you couldn’t actually test drive the pen before hand, as if often the case when you buy it in a set – I’d probably be a little burnt the cap color did not represent the ink housed inside. Not a big fan of “ink surprises”.

Zig Millennium pens are hard to match in terms of price and performance. Even if you end up less than thrilled by the way in which they lay down a line you’re not going to be going to the poorhouse because of it. Sold individually or in sets they are well within the DTPW? bargain level price point. Besides, if you don’t like them they’re cute enough to be instantly stolen!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/13/2011 1:15 pm

    I love violet ink, this one looks delicious! I wish more pens were readily available in more colors than blue and black without my having to worry about them being 98% dried out by everybody who scribbled “does this pen write?” or some such.

  2. 05/17/2011 8:47 am

    I’m also not a fan of pink but Palimpsest went through a pink phase (see here: http://writinginstruments.blogspot.com/2011/01/pink-of-pink-pens.html) and I was sent more than 2 dozens of pink pens to try out. I found the Uni Ball Eye and most of all the Zebra Sarasa 0.7 to fit the bill for me, in terms of smooth writing and colour.

  3. Millie permalink
    05/17/2011 6:50 pm

    These pens look nice! I don’t like nibs like that though, because I like to write at an angle too.

Leave a Reply

