Skip to content

Desert Island Pens: Which 10 Pens Would You Take?

05/28/2011

a 3 hour tour... via http://www.gilligansisle.com/

Assuming the island would be abundant with everything else, except pens. The pens you select to bring would replenish forever, but you wouldn’t be able to acquire any new ones or swap out other pens. No, you’d have to give away the rest of your collection save the ten you’re taking to the island. I’m not sure why it’s an island, but for some reason having all that water around and coconut radio is pretty much the only way people can really get themselves into the mindset. Anyway, here’s what I’d take (in no particular order).

1. Wal-Mart @ The Office Pen in Aqua

2. Foray Focus Fine Writing Roller Ball Pen

3. A&W Nite Companion Pen

4. Staedtler 1.6 MM Ballpoint Pen – Dark Blue

5. Maped Freewriter in Black

6. Sharbo X

7. Stainless Steel Sharpie

8. Post-It Flag Pen Classic

9. Zig Millennium 05 Green

10. My birthday/executive pen.

So what about you? What would you bring? I did my list really fast and without deliberating too long.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. AnthroK8 permalink
    06/01/2011 7:51 pm

    Gah. The internet. It ate my comment. Truncated comment follows:

    I blame my lack of pen-sensitivity to the fact that when walking around the stationary stores of Germany ca. 1986, I continually said to myself “Self, you KNOW that cute Hello Kitty pen and notebook in a plastic case is not worth the 16DM outlay.” By the time I had money to spend at that level on frivolities, I had discovered fabric.

    This means my Island Pens would just be a multipack of Pilot V-Ball in various colors. I use them to grade, and tend to leave the red one where someone can steal it because I think it’s really flat and dull. I like the purple better. There are many students in the world who probably break out in hives when they see that ink due to my writing “GREAT FORMATTING! LET’S WORK ON A THESIS! REVISION DUE TUESDAY!!!!!!!!! Grade: D” all over whatever they wrote. That, and some of the black ones, just in case.

    So, anyway, your handwriting. Looks a lot like my grad bestie’s. She, like yourself, is a witty presence, and someone I think of as having a no-nonsense laser-like critical glare she casts on the world before quipping. And, like yourself, I think her handwriting doesn’t look like the handwriting of a person with a laser like critical glare quip. Which, when I think about it, is totally stupid, since handwriting is handwriting, and my sister in law in a doctor with distressingly legible and neat handwriting, so, whatever, that generalizing thing doesn’t work any better about writing than any other thing.

    But! I was wondering if YOU think about your handwriting? Or choose pens because they make your handwriting in particular look especially good? I have noticed my handwriting over the years has become more and more like my mother’s, and hers is Perfect Palmer Penmanship, and taught to her by the Nuns of Doom and Misery from Catholic School in the 50’s. Mine is not nearly as neat as her is, but it is beginning to live in the same orbit.

    I like the Pilot pens because of how my cursive looks on the page. Broad enough to see, but not so wide it becomes an interference given the size of the letters and such when writing in paper margins.

  2. 06/01/2011 11:42 pm

    I blame my lack of pen-sensitivity to the fact that when walking around the stationary stores of Germany ca. 1986, I continually said to myself “Self, you KNOW that cute Hello Kitty pen and notebook in a plastic case is not worth the 16DM outlay.” By the time I had money to spend at that level on frivolities, I had discovered fabric.

    I know we’ve discussed our living in the SAME FREAKING EUROPEAN COUNTRY at the same time, but each time I read that I totally go, “OMG!!!”

    I’m slowly getting on the Pilot train and I have a couple of Pilot reviews coming up soon. Thank you for your comment, sorry the internet stole your other one!! I’ll be back to respond to more.

  3. 06/01/2011 11:52 pm

    But! I was wondering if YOU think about your handwriting? Or choose pens because they make your handwriting in particular look especially good? I have noticed my handwriting over the years has become more and more like my mother’s, and hers is Perfect Palmer Penmanship, and taught to her by the Nuns of Doom and Misery from Catholic School in the 50′s. Mine is not nearly as neat as her is, but it is beginning to live in the same orbit.

    Hahah! I totally agree with you about my handwriting. It’s weird, sometimes I can get it together and leave the goth flourishes alone, but other times I find myself just writing as though I were still 12 and dreaming about Duran Duran. I have always wanted handwriting that looked like a type setting, but now I’ve sort of let go of that dream.

    I think it’s been a good thing for my blog because I write about things in such a ferocious way and sometimes people are scared of me or think I’m a big meanie face (which I can be), but rarely do they realize I’m goofy, accessible and a bit of a sap. I think my handwriting helps soften the perception of my “persona”. Most people are surprised at how nice, giggly and otherwise not scary I am. Most often when people meet me in real life they say it feels like they’ve known me forever since I’m super bubbly. It’s so odd.

  4. AnthroK8 permalink
    06/02/2011 9:20 pm

    I think it’s hilarious we spent time in the same European town in the same European country! At more or less the SAME time. The Lladro factory seconds comments you made at some point a while back? THAT WAS MY LIFE. Except Hummels and Kristkindelmarts. Aie!

    ANYWAY! I wasn’t much of a goth, which might explain why I think of your handwriting as “I am Banksy: The Berlin Graffiti Edition.” What is it with Northern European graffiti and its… tidiness? Good penmanship with a spray can? Who does that? Germans, apparently.

    I tend to think of myself as a bouncy, amiable person. But apparently that only applies when one isn’t pissing me off. My mom says I can be really blunt. Or, that I don’t suffer foolishness lightly, sometimes. I’ve always maintained that there is a gender dynamic in there. Like, I can’t be nice or happy all the time. So, what do you get when voluable and cheery gets upset? Something equally noticeable, but less socially acceptable, that’s what.

    In the last few years, I have gotten much better about deploying the upset-Anthrok8 in targeted ways. And an in-control upset voluable cheery person, I expect, is even more scary than a tears-and-worrying one. I do not mind this.

  5. kerry permalink
    06/05/2011 4:25 pm

    I’m looking in my pen box right now. There are over 50 pens in it, plus 30 more floating around in my room and bags. There’s no way I can just pick from all of them, so I’m just going to list the ones I use pretty much every day.

    -Uniball Signo in Lavender Black 0.38
    -Lamy Safari XF nib
    -Platinum Pretty sign marker
    -Morning Glory Mach II in black
    -Uniball Signo 207
    -Uniball Jetstream – I have the rubberized orange body in 0.7 – writes like a dream!
    -Pilot G-knock 0.38
    -Pilot airblanc mechanical pencil 0.3
    -Hero 266 fountain pen
    -Sharpie
    -Pilot Precise V5

  6. 06/05/2011 6:27 pm

    I can’t think of a full 10 but these would be my desert island pens (and pencils):

    1. Parker Jotter.
    2. Four Color Bic.
    3. Staedteler Noris.
    4. Lamy Safari Fountain Pen, Red Ink.
    5. Palomino Blackwing.

    Thanks for the post and the challenge of choosing.

  7. Robert M. permalink
    06/06/2011 6:05 am

    I was expecting a Pen Island (http://www.penisland.net) joke to pop up sooner.

    I don’t think I could choose 10. Not because I have so many to choose from, but because I can’t think of 10 that I really like.

    I’d want an ultra-fine Sharpie or similar marker for labels.
    I’d definitely have a Signo DX 0.38mm and Hi-Tec-C 0.4mm, but I’d probably leave the Mujis and Sliccis on the mainland.
    I’d bring a 0.5mm Jetstream and forget about the Surari, Acroball, andVicuna equivalents.
    A TWSBI Diamond 530 EF with a bunch of Iroshizuku inks

    So that leaves me at five. I guess I could bring some pencils…
    A 2.0mm Mitsubishi Pure Malt with Uni HB leads
    Some Tombow Mono 100s
    A Pentel GraphGear 1000 0.3mm

    So now I’m up to 8…Perhaps some stuff I don’t use often…
    Pentel Pocket Brush

    And I’m kinda stumped for 10. Maybe another lead holder.

  8. 06/07/2011 3:56 pm

    I don’t think I could choose 10. Not because I have so many to choose from, but because I can’t think of 10 that I really like.

    @Robert

    I definitely tried to think make my list with various writing tasks in mind. That helped me with the last four or five choices. it’s definitely difficult, but oddly enough illustrated to me that perhaps I truly am a pen addict, given there’s lots of utility overlap in my arsenal. Thank you for stopping by and sharing your list!!!

  9. 06/07/2011 3:58 pm

    @Kerry – I love your list. It sounds like you have a well curated collection. You’d already have the best hut on the island while the rest of us were shuffling through our collections! 🙂

    @Oliver – I think I might have goofed by not clarifying that any writing instrument was game for the list! Sorry about that.

  10. 06/08/2011 5:40 am

    Hmmm . . . I have very few favorites.

    1. Black Sharpie permanent marker
    2. Black Sharpie fine-point permanent marker
    3. Purple Uni-Ball Signo 207 (0.7mm)
    4. Black Uni-Ball Signo Micro 207 (0.5mm)
    5 & 6. Repeat 4 (because I inevitably misplace them)
    7. A thinline yellow highlighter that doesn’t smear print or bleed
    8. A 0.5mm mechanical pencil of my dreams (it’s out there, somewhere!)
    9. Repeat 8, but with 0.7mm
    10. A plain PaperMate stick pen (blue ink, white barrel, blue cap)

  11. Howard permalink
    06/12/2011 8:55 pm

    1) Uniball Jetstream 1.0 (in a Jetstream Premier barrel–comfy, juuuust squishy enough w/o being too…)
    2) Pilot Bold G2 in a G2 Limited barrel
    3) Pilot G2 Fine (med 0.7) in G2 LTD barrel (only Pilot barrel that’s comfortable to me at all… though I love their ink the best)
    4) Pilot Center of Gravity Full Black (a little cushier…) with medium (1.0) refill or RF 15 broad refill
    5) Bic Intensity 1.6 (blue or black–really smooth for a bp)
    6) Pilot B2P blue med/fine (just love the way the barrel looks)

    AND the amazing looking Pilot Axiom; and Sarasa Emulsion Ink refill which fits in the Jetstream Premier barrel!

Trackbacks

  1. Desert island pens | Planet Millie

Leave a Reply

