Skip to content

Stackable Gel Pens from Kmart!

08/08/2011

This is simply the BEST PEN CONCEPT EVER. Tapping into my eternal love of pop-a-point pencils, smooth writing gel pens and of course wider barrel pens, these awesome pens from Kmart had me at, “Wait, are those stackable?”

I should have done something to demonstrate scale, because the picture makes it’s difficult to fully appreciate how big these pens are. They are fun right out of the package, which is wonderful, since the packaging isn’t exactly the stuff of Milton Glaser.

No cracks about my janky manicure! Anyway, here’s a shot of the inside of one of the components. The gel pens utilize the same pop-a-point technology and despite their size lose nothing in performance. The transition from cartridge to cartridge is easy, which each one snapping securing into place.

The caps stay securely affixed to the ends of the pen; I’m telling you there is no wobbliness or instability. For such a novelty pen, I’m rather impressed by the design. It’s not simply a matter of scaling up, but it seems as though some care and thought went into ensuring the components stay in place.

The ink is typical of modest price gel pens and I had no issues with performance. Unfortunately, I was so bonks about these pens that every single color – including orange – has nearly dried up before I could actually do the review! I used this pen exclusively for about a month; starting with the black and finally ending with the orange. Seriously, I love this pen just that much!

The best part: the set only robbed Babby of $2!!! For that kind of joy joy you can’t beat that price with a stick. I found them at the Kmart in Syracuse and I haven’t been able to track them down at my local Kmart. Still, I’m looking forward to getting another set or two of these totally fun pens.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/08/2011 7:31 pm

    those look really squishy and fun!

  2. 08/13/2011 8:48 pm

    Very cool concept. Never saw something like this before.

  3. 08/14/2011 9:49 pm

    Wow – so crazy and cool! The design makes the pens so fun to use. 🙂

  4. 09/01/2011 5:13 pm

    I admit it. Those give me pen envy. It’s worse because I don’t think there’s a K-Mart within an hour’s drive of here, so I can’t even look for them.

Leave a Reply

