Skip to content

Weekends Are Made for Brunching

09/04/2011

My Babby!

I love me an overpriced, faux homey brunch. I won’t even lie. It’s one of the few things I don’t mind spending a few extra bucks on. Deliciously seasoned home fries, biscuits & gravy and scrambled eggs.. My favorite brunch spot is downtown, always ridiculously crowded often the source of petty bickering between my partner and me. (Stressful parking situation and too many people crammed in too small a space). Still, we both agreed these biscuits & gravy were kind of WORTHY the mild bickering. Tell me about your favorite local brunch spot or what you like to make when you brunch at home.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Colin Edwards permalink
    09/04/2011 7:24 am

    Help! Here in the UK biscuits are what you call ‘cookies’ and gravy tends to be a hot, brown, savoury, stock flavoured liquid served with roast beef, pork or lamb. I just cannot visualise eating either for breakfast. Please explain your definitions/recipe.
    My own guilty brunch is a typical ‘Full English All Day Breakfast’ … allowed once a year as it is so high in cholesteral, fats and other tasty but harmful ingredients.
    Cornish Pasties are wonderful wonder-fuel too. But that’s another story.
    Thanks for your entertaining blogs.
    Colin [Margate UK]

  2. kisha permalink
    09/04/2011 2:12 pm

    That looks delish!

  3. 09/04/2011 3:40 pm

    Colin, our biscuits are kind of like scones but softer (greasier) and flakier. The “gravy” is basically a veggie herb version of what you would probably also call gravy, but in American breakfasts it usually has bits of sausage in it.

    My favorite brunches are the ones I make at home, and usually include quiche or some other egg dish. And potatoes. I make good home fries but have never quite gotten a method for homemade hash browns that didn’t end up a greasy gloppy mess.

  4. princess coldheart permalink
    09/04/2011 6:16 pm

    oooh that looks good! in oakland, i am partial to mama’s royal cafe in oakland- http://www.mamasroyalcafeoakland.com/

    and kate’s kitchen in SF- http://www.kates-kitchensf.com/

    sorry, i haven’t figured out how to link in comments yet.

  5. 09/05/2011 2:17 am

    Nom! I want to try American biscuits and gravy.
    I’m all about eggs. Mostly poached. And woe betide a too-hard yolk. Yesterday Mr S and I went to a little French place locally (with authentic young, good looking, I-hate-you Parisian service ha) and had eggs benedict, which is our brunch staple. It was out of this world – home made super buttery hollandaise, and served on a buckwheat crepe instead of English muffins. My mouth is watering remembering it. (Which answers the question of why we continue to go somewhere with such hilariously uninterested service. Also we like to make up reasons as to why they’re so grumpy. Tragic love affairs are usually involved.)
    I think a good pre-brunch bicker whets one’s appetite 🙂

  6. 09/05/2011 11:44 pm

    You weren’t kdding, your man is indeed a silver fox!!

    Ahem. My suburb isn’t too great with cute little brunch-y spots so I usually make my own breakfast burrito (eggs, cheese, tapatio hot sauce, mmmm). Hopefully when I move closer to downtown Cincinnati next week I’ll be able to find a little spot because that gravy looks KILLER. 🙂

  7. 10/02/2012 5:18 pm

    Wow, I’ve been catching up on your blog. I’ve been absent from my reader for too long! Anyway, this seemed recent enough to comment on without getting caught in the spam filter, so here we go!

    We have a tiny little hippie cafe called “Hi-Lo’s” that we love to go to that serves “moon biscuits and gravy”. They put their biscuit batter in a Belgian waffle iron and serve the most wonderful sausage gravy over it, sometimes with eggs. And they have divine, bottomless, serve-yourself coffee (and some of the best drip decaf EVAR, ’cause I’m kinda sensitive to caffeine). We don’t go there often, but it is an indulgence when we get the chance. 🙂

    If that doesn’t work out, not too far away is a 50’s-esque diner called “Big Apple Diner”, which also has wonderful nostalgic food. 🙂

    My stomach is growling now . . .

  8. 10/02/2012 5:29 pm

    OH LOL! I just noticed this post was made in 2011! I REALLY haven’t been checking my reader enough! XD

  9. 10/25/2012 2:54 pm

    No worries. I loved reading your thoughts!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

