Skip to content

Fresh or Tired: Pilot FriXion Erasable Pen

09/10/2011

It took Borders flat lining for me to finally say, “hey, now is as good a time as any to try Pilot FriXion Erasable Pen.” 80% off the listed price of $4.99 for a two pack seemed to be sweet spot for me to try a pen that evoked those disappointing erasable pens of junior high.

The barrel reminds me the 90s “put the word EXTREME in front of everything” craze, which resulted in a lot unremarkable products relying on pitch people without inside voices and use of jump/shutter cuts that bordered on criminal.That’s okay, because Pilot could benefit from more jazzy barrel designs (in my opinion).

The pen is interesting because it doesn’t so much erase as it acts as a coat of primer that renders the ink colorless but not exactly erased. I’m sure there’s something notable about this distinction, but honestly after 15 minutes writing swear words and then “erasing” them I couldn’t tell a difference between “erasing” and “rendering the ink colorless”.

The pen smells EXACTLY like junior high misery. That same faintly rubbery smell of misspelled vocab words. This is amusing, but also kind of a downer. I have two friends who swear by this pen and honestly, I just don’t get it. It’s a nice enough pen, but nothing spectacular and I still don’t like the whole erasable pen concept. Here’s your chance to set me straight. Tell me all about this pen. Help me see the error of my ways.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/10/2011 5:03 am

    I think it’s the novelty condom name and the early 90’s arm tattoo design, but these pens make me crack up.

  2. 09/10/2011 5:25 am

    haha. the name is so bad. frixion. like some overbearing bad date with a shark smile sprayed to the teeth in axe body products.

  3. 09/10/2011 8:26 am

    The smell of erasable pens from junior high … Ugh. I remember that and hating erasable pens. They tore the paper up, making it really raggy looking. I much preferred either pencil erase or the clean line through, correct, and keep going.

  4. Melissa permalink
    09/10/2011 12:51 pm

    Sorry to hear they didn’t work out for you. I love these pens! They erase really clean and there are no eraser bits left behind like the junior high ones. I just wish the pen would last longer. I also tried the Papermate version of this, that one is really bad, its worse than the junior high ones.

  5. 09/10/2011 10:29 pm

    So true. I think it might be with the guy on the left: http://www.npr.org/2011/09/09/140333560/battles-for-survival-small-scale-and-huge

  6. 10/20/2011 5:41 pm

    I totally agree on the design, and I’m also not so convinced about the color of the ink.. But I tell you, the new needlepoint is actually better than the original..you should try it! šŸ™‚

  7. 10/02/2012 5:25 pm

    I love the concept; they’re perfect for fabric marking (because you can iron the marks away). I had to get the superfine ones (0.4? I can’t remember) from JetPens.com to really fall in love with them. They’re perfect for color-coding a planner! You can write in pen without worrying that it’s permanent. That said, I have a couple of 0.7s (purple and black) and I’ve kinda relegated them to “special pen box” heaven for now, until I actually start using them for fabric marking. The purple ink is lovely, at least. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

