Skip to content

One Minute Reviews: Sharpie Pens in NEW COLORS

09/14/2011

Sharpie Pens continue to both fascinate and frustrate me. When they’re good they’re great, but when they’re bad…well you know the rest of the story. Still, I did squee when I spied the new colors – okay, not the peach so much, but definitely the pink and the aqua.

I don’t have one of the other ones in grabbing distance, but based on feel alone, I already like this incarnation better than the previous. I’m nervous about the barrel material because I do not have a delicate touch and tend to grip my writing instruments like they’ve been bad. Still, the barrel did not snap in half as I wrote so maybe I shouldn’t freak out too much about it.

I scored mine on clearance at Wally World for $3.97, which is a good deal. Still, I would have paid more and stil felt I’d gotten value for my cashmoney. Sharpie Pens are a really innovative product at an accessible price point. Also, THEY HAVE NO SMELL. For fans of that Sharpie smell this might be a bummer, but for me (not a fan of that smell) this is really exciting.

The ink is pretty much like all the other Sharpie Pens, though I am a little bummed the aqua ink isn’t more vibrant. The pink is the real showstopper of the package; the other colors were just to meh for my tastes, but I’m sure someone squeed when they saw them so I’m not going clown those colors. And if you are one of those people who went squee over the green and the peach please comment and say so. You can have mine!

Sharpie Fans, what are your thoughts on the new colors and redesigned grip?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/14/2011 7:11 pm

    Love love love these and can’t wait to try them! My only complaint about the Sharpie markers that I use so much at work is the “sharp” smell that makes my eyes water. I’m glad to hear these don’t smell at all.

    Also, you have beautiful handwriting. Which I envy. My handwriting looks like I am in the midst of a six-year bender.

  2. 09/14/2011 7:27 pm

    My heartache with Sharpie pens stems from their tendency to leak an inky mess inside their caps. This has only happened a few times, but makes me nervous enough to use something else (like my Micron 05) if I have the choice.

  3. Q.V. permalink
    11/19/2011 7:48 pm

    Speaking of Sharpie heartbreak, I learned not to keep the Sharpie in the kitchen, where I keep a dry erase marker to write lists on my cupboard doors. Because sometimes, after you’ve made a nice list on the white laminate, you see the dry erase marker on the table and realise you just used the Sharpie that was for labelling canning. So far used baking soda, brillo pad, rubbing alcohol, toothpaste and a toothbrush, and the next tenant will still be able to read the shopping list. These multi-colour Sharpies would have alerted me right away.

  4. Terri permalink
    11/20/2011 7:33 pm

    If you mistakenly use a non-dry-erase pen on your white board, you can write/scribble heavily over it with a dry-erase marker and the permanent marker will wipe right away. Easy peasy!

  5. 01/16/2012 6:36 am

    ooh! ooh! i would love to test-run the peach/green! i’ve never met a green pen i didn’t like.

  6. Jay permalink
    01/18/2012 4:08 pm

    I was excited when Sharpie annouced they had pen coming out and rushed to the store to get one. While I think they write fine, for me the barrell is a bit too skinny and I cant get around the fact they are not a pen but just a fine point marker.

  7. 01/23/2012 6:52 pm

    @Jay – I agree with your assessment of the sharpie pen. Though as a fine point marker, I think there’re pretty awesome. I do wish the barrel was a smidge thicker and made a bit more substantial material. The latest version of the Sharpie pen (stainless steel grip) is impressing the hell out of me. You might try that one.

Leave a Reply

