Skip to content

How do you cope when a product you love is discontinued?

01/13/2012

The day has finally come: my beloved Post-it Flag Pen Classic has been discontinued. To be fair this probably happened awhile ago, but it was only recently that I got official confirmation when I contacted 3M to find out where I could purchase more. Now if I wanted to buy 100 at a time I could go to one of those pen wholesalers, but seriously, let’s hope it doesn’t to come to that. Favorite office products being discontinued seems to happen to be on a regular basis so I’m not sure why this came as such a surprise. I mean I don’t even know anyone who uses this pen! It is my daily default pen and besides the fact I love the barrel, there’s nothing especially remarkable about its performance. I don’t even use the flags! I’m so glad I snagged so many at this time last year. What about you? What cherished office supply products have been discontinued? Which ones do you wish would come back?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/13/2012 10:09 am

    My first favorite pen from years ago was called the “Panther Rollerball”. It came in a really nice aluminum or plastic body. The refills were the issue. It was a pentel, I think, and the refills were SPECIFIC to that pen.

    I still have the body, and sort of had a refill that fit, but the refills were actually really nice.

    My, how I miss that pen.

  2. TLB permalink
    01/16/2012 12:15 am

    Oh do I know what you mean!!! I absolutely LOVED the Cross Morph II pen from back in the day! Great grip and great ink (Cross’s M.O.) and just a fantastic writing experience! I had the foresight to buy a bunch of refills, but alas they lasted only so long and I’m not aware of any “pen hack” for this semi-unique writing implement of years gone by. I still think of it every now and then, which tells you what a great product I thought it was. There are many great pens out there now to fill the void, but the old Cross Morph II will remain a favorite highlight in my life with the written word.

  3. kenounirenashin permalink
    04/15/2012 9:29 am

    I want the Uniball Fusion to come back. I loved those pens and I cannot find them in the UK anymore.

  4. 10/24/2013 1:23 am

    When I was in foundation year of art school, I found a set of blue drawing pencils (in the full spectrum of hardness) with a rubberized coating. They felt so comfortable in my hand, and I loved them. Went back the next week and NOTHING. Could never find them again online or otherwise, and my hand suffered for it.

Leave a Reply

