Skip to content

Orla Kiely Notebooks

02/13/2012

Orla Kiely notebooks caught my eye during one of those late night surfing stints where it feels like you might actually come to the end of the internet. I can’t remember which website finally led me to these products, but I was smitten with everything but the spendy price tag!

Then a couple of weeks ago while wandering through American Eagle (of all places) looking to satisfy my deep discount hoodie and gray yoga pant fix I spied a display of all kinds of weird and wonderful stationery, soaps and stuffs I normally never see there and it was all an additional 50% off! So instead of the scoff-inducing retail price of $16 for the Lattice Flower & Rhododendron Check B5 Layflat Notebook Set I scored them for – wait for it – $3.49!!! Despite playing it cool on the outside I was squealing on the inside. Because a couple of other things I’d been lusting after were also being offered at rock bottom prices that nearly made me get up on a display table and do that Eriq La Salle ER opening credits move.

So yeah, I love me a bargain priced adorable notebook, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves. For starters, I wasn’t as thrilled with the paper as I expected to be. Don’t get me wrong – yes, I’m totally humming THIS – they are lovely, high quality notebooks, but I think I’ve been using Rhodia products too long because most other papers leave me feeling meh. It’s not like I expect paper to perform some great flight-o-fancy so I’m not exactly sure who died and made me head snob at the paper rodeo.

Since I haven’t opened the notebooks – I’m weird about opening sealed notebooks before I actually use them. Something about bad juju – I can’t say for sure that I’ll suck my teeth every time I put pen to these things, but I wouldn’t pay $16 for them despite the gorgeous patterns they come in. That said, they are totally fun, probably magical and make me feel happy just looking at them. Okay, so maybe I would pay full price for them. Are you an Orla Kiely fan? Have you tried these notebooks? How do you think they compare to similar products by other companies?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/13/2012 5:20 pm

    What cute notebooks! I love finding unexpected bargains like that. Great find!

  2. 02/14/2012 9:10 pm

    Wow this is the only thing that might ever get me entering an American Eagle store. The blue one especially … I am due a new notebook; I only have two blank ones left on hand!

  3. lucy permalink
    09/06/2012 2:00 am

    Wow! When I first read the post, I didn’t think $16 was too much to pay. But then these notebooks are not just $16. I was just checking out at the Orla Kiely website and my total was $28. I really want these notebooks but I can’t justify spending $30!

Trackbacks

  1. Penthusiasm! - Tiger Pens Blog

Leave a Reply

