Skip to content

Somewhere Between Write and Wrong

02/15/2012

When I was prepping to move to Syracuse to live with my partner I drove myself bananas trying to downsize, sell off or outright trash everything deemed extraneous. My adherence to Discardia seemed like a fraud because I had so much damn crap. If you’ve moved even once, suddenly you treat every single object like a guest who has overstayed their welcome.

Throughout the downsizing process I kept coming back to my stash of office supply products and questioning whether I really needed to keep all those notebooks and pens. To my credit I did jettison a ton of stuff, by convincing myself I’d just start using my iPhone to manage all of my tasks. Except, I didn’t like using my phone that way.

My tasks are pretty routine and they looked kind of sad displayed on my phone. I mean even listing things like doing laundry or calling a dude about a thing seem all the more thrilling when it involves a stack of quad ruled index cards and fabulous pens. Seeking comfort in blogs (without a trace of irony) about the joys of writing longhand – despite being in solidarity with them – I couldn’t help but think, damn, why do they always have to sound like the people who call Coast to Coast at 2am?

I have to write things down by hand. I trust my hand written to-do lists. I trust that I’ll hold myself accountable for every item listed. With my phone or computer…not so much. I have rolled my eyes and sucked my teeth when my phone announced it was time to go the gym. Yet, when my index cards or planner says the same thing I just sigh and strap on my sneakers. I don’t know why I am like this, but I guess it means I’m never going to be super efficient in a shiny, futuristic way and will always be that girl who stuffs her iPhone into her bra before digging through her purse for a Rhodia notebook and a Lamy Safari pen.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/16/2012 12:26 am

    I love hearing about people who still love paper in this digital age! I never understand when people try to convince me paper is irrelevant now. I hope paper never dies.

  2. Kisha permalink
    02/16/2012 8:40 pm

    I have a hot pink notebook that I keep on my desk to write my grocery lists and other shit. The only time I use my phone’s ‘notepad’ is if I need to jot something down really fast and have no time to look for paper.

  3. 02/16/2012 9:06 pm

    One of my complaints about my Android phone was that it didn’t come with a notepad app at all! Even my janky old Verizon feature phone had a way to make notes. I’d expect a Google phone to have a cool voice-to-text notepad at the very least. So I downloaded a free notepad from the Android market (and a file browser since Android doesn’t give you one of those either) only to find out that the process of creating a note this way and then actually being able to find it later is so painful that it’s much easier to just scribble on the back of my hand with with my Sharpie pencil (which cleans very nicely).

  4. 02/16/2012 10:39 pm

    i can’t use the notepad thing on the iphone either. i got “remember the milk” and i never use it. if i need to make a note or a to-do list i use paper and pen, it’s way easier.

    i feel a way about the kindle/nook vs. a real book too. like how am i going to dog ear anything, and how are people going to know how awesome i am by seeing the cover of the book i’m reading?

  5. 02/16/2012 11:05 pm

    Redlami said: So I downloaded a free notepad from the Android market (and a file browser since Android doesn’t give you one of those either) only to find out that the process of creating a note this way and then actually being able to find it later is so painful that it’s much easier to just scribble on the back of my hand with with my Sharpie pencil (which cleans very nicely).

    LOL! Is the Sharpie pencil is erasable on skin or does it work as crapily on skin as it does on paper?

    Tasha said: i feel a way about the kindle/nook vs. a real book too. like how am i going to dog ear anything, and how are people going to know how awesome i am by seeing the cover of the book i’m reading?

    Exactly. I’m not going to be able to scare would be playas away if they can’t see “The Secret” tacky ass cover. But I do still kinda want a Nook, even though I don’t know if I’d actually do anything with it.

  6. 02/17/2012 3:41 pm

    I like the Sharpie pencil! And yes it thumb-erases from skin quite easily.

  7. 07/22/2012 11:21 pm

    Love my iPhone…but love paper more

  8. 01/10/2014 12:28 pm

    I have moved more than a dozen times in the past decade. Sometimes across continents, others across state lines. And each time, I donate 2 garbage bags filled with unused pens and note cards and journal. You would think I would have learnt my lesson by now. But apparently I am a sucker for punishment….

Leave a Reply

