Skip to content

Dr. Strangecolor: How to Quit Worrying and Start Loving Pantone’s Tangerine Tango

02/18/2012

Nothing says, "I've embraced Tangerine Tango." like a necklace draped jauntily on a lampshade.

When Pantone declare Tangerine Tango its 2012 color of the year the chatter among color enthusiasts seemed mixed at best. After last’s years ultra saturated and polarizing Honeysuckle I’d hoped they would have selected a more aspirational hue like CASH MONEY GREEN or BILLS ALL PAID SILVER. But what can you do?

ahead of trend my 2009ish Ikea Marius stool.

Living in Syracuse – a town that needs no encouragement from Pantone to flaunt itself some orange – the color is ubiquitous. Personally, I don’t dislike the color orange, though I do find this shade kind of underwhelming. Depending on your display settings Tangerine Tango can look either Crayola “red orange” or garishly Halloweenish and neither shade gets me all that excited.

(via Ikea website)

Having said all that, I really want this Malm Occasional table ($79.99)! Orange has notoriously caused me much home decor dramedy, but it never stops me of dreaming of infusing spaces with a few accents of orange, especially since it plays so nicely with my beloved turquoise and reminds me of this swatch my sister had when we were kids.

Despite being wonky about Patone’s color choice and having some orange decor related craftfails, I am attracted to the color. Case in point, when I saw this DwellStudio® for Target® Perch Collection Comforter I was intrigued. When the clearance sticker boasted its low low price, that bad boy came home with us.

Writing these yearly Pantone posts is not designed to preach to the converted. People who adore orange – I see you, Lala from “Dress My Nest” – don’t need convincing. However, the rest of us who want to be open to trying the color of the year in a less committed way here are a few fun options.

Swatch Pumpkin Rebel ($70): Though currently out of stock at Swatch’s website, I’ve been tracking this watch on Ebay other Swatch resell places because as soon as it drops to my price point I’m totally getting it. It would look awesome with my early 00s Gap orange puffy vest if I can ever figure out where I put it!

Canon PowerShot SD1400IS 14.1 MP Digital Camera: While I don’t actually shoot with a Canon anymore (I think the camera Babby lent me is a Canon), I like them a lot. Canon makes cameras people don’t seem to hate and well you can get it in orange!

Target throw pillows: Throw pillows, folding chairs and necklaces are my gateway drug as far as color is concerned. It always starts with a damn throw pillow and the next I know I’m convincing myself to paint a wall a color I’ll soon grown tired of long before the paint actually dries.

M.A.C Morange Lipstick: I expected to hate this color when I received it in an sealed product trade a while back. I can’t wear it full on or everyday, but using it as a stain before putting on some gloss makes me super happy. I also just like looking at the tube.

Home Depot Carpenter Pencils: Finally, an option for you cheapskates (my people!). Home Depot lets you rage the color trend for a mere $.11 per pencil.

Lush Karma Soap: I know lots of people who go bonks over Lush and I used to be one of them. A dear friend gifted me this set of products for my birthday – shoot what was that, like six years ago – and I am still using the stuffs, because I don’t want to run out. As for Karma I ordered it last year and within three weeks it as gone. I loved it, but I didn’t love how fast it got used up. Especially compared to my Filthy Farmgirl soaps which cost less and last for months (I have one that I bought last march that is still going!)

Orange iPhone case: The ultimate in non committal participation in the year’s color trend is of course a phone case!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/19/2012 1:07 am

    I love all your picks! A big ole Ikea needs to finally open in NZ cos I want that occasional table damnit. Particularly love your duvet cover, and on sale just makes it sweeter. I can get behind this orange way easier than their puce, especially when you lay it out like this! I’ve got a comfy orange throw in our living room that goes with nothing, so I can pick up a couple of accents and old faithful can be cool again.

  2. 02/20/2012 1:26 pm

    Isn’t the occasional table amazing? I haven’t seen it in real life, but I’m guessing it’s probably not too far off from the shade of the Marius stools. And yes, IKEA needs to come to NZ ASAP.

    I agree w/ this shade being a lot more livable than the pink. Even as a pink lover I felt like the shade didn’t really lend itself to home decor or wardrobe integration at all. I think the orange might end up surprising me, especially if I find a cute task lamp in this shade. I am trying to be open to the shade because I swear one day I will be have me a well decorated space with orange accents!

    Yay, thanks for stopping by :).

Leave a Reply

