Skip to content

Teal Me About These New Notebooks

08/02/2012

I think on more than one or two occasions I’ve mentioned my love of all things teal, aqua, turquoise and so forth. Who knows, maybe you’re new around these parts (if so, welcome!) or maybe it’s been so long since I’ve written here my color obsessions have become faint memories. In either case, let me make myself clear: I LOVE TEAL, AQUA, TURQUOISE! I love it in the morning. I love it the evening. I’ve painted walls this color, my nails so it’s like thing with me.

Markings by CR Gibson – $3.99 – 3 Pack – approx. 5×8

Prior to this purchase CR Gibson was completely unfamiliar to me. I thought the old timey sounding name was a bit of marketing, but apparently this Nashville based company has been making journals the old fashioned way since 1870. It appears these journals were actually made in China, though it’s unclear how long back the relationship between Gibson and its Chinese partners goes. In any event, what we have here are a set of lovely lined journals (80 pages of perforated goodness) in shade variations reminiscent of a Behr paint chip. On a Moleskine knockoff scale, which ranges from Piccadilly to Pic-n-Save, I would rate these quite highly. The textured cover is sturdy, lies flat when closed and boasts an impressive inside pocket. While I generally avoid using notebook pockets, these look like they can hold their own against someone whose use is more aggressive. On the other hand, the paper is nothing to write home about. (Seriously, I need to STOP MAKING THAT JOKE whenever review notebooks) It is medium quality and about what you would expect in a budget notebook purchased from a box retailer. This shouldn’t be taken as a slight, because these are certainly a trio of respectable lined notebooks. Much much better than the Noted brand notebooks which didn’t work out so well for me.

Green Inspired “She’s a dreamer, a doer, a thinker. She sees possibility everywhere” mini journal – $1.99 (sale price) – sold exclusively at Target

More than anything else the beautiful Tiffany-ish bright blue green is what drew me to this notebook. I didn’t bother googling the quote, but I’m gonna assume it’s something that means something to someone and doesn’t mean anything to someone else and keep stepping. I tend to shun notebooks with cutesy, folksy or ‘inspirational’ sayings, crafty, bedazzled, precious covers or ornamental extras, serving no purpose other than to highlight how cheap and unfortunate the materials are. You know the sort of lined journal regifted during a office party by a coworker who usually inscribes the cover with a passive aggressive, “letting know how I feel about you…”. To which the only logical response can be, “Well next time, just punch me in the face.” You know. that kind of journal. Good news, everyone! This journal is not that kind of journal, though it does come with its own brand of preachy feel goodery. These hippie journals boast soy inks, responsibly sourced materials and just enough hippie indignation to compliment the non-chlorine bleached pages. The paper isn’t completely terrible. It’s massed produced hippie paper. Speaking of paper, can I tell you how utterly daft I feel photographing lined blank pages? Doesn’t matter if I’m using my good camera or my iPhone. I just feel ridiculous. My photos of blank pages never have the “SMELL THE CRISP SPENDY PAGES” quality of all the top tier ink & notebook bloggers. Anyhoo. The journal also comes in tomato red.

Moleskine Volant – scored on clearance for $2.74 – Target

Look, I won’t bore you with Moleskine facts and figures. People love these notebooks and when I can snag a Moleskine product for a blowout bargain bonanza then I love them too. And what a blowout bargain bonanza it was. Very exciting. I’m not sure if my Target is just not moving the Moleskines like the Barnes & Noble up the street, but the section looked sparse, abandoned and kind of sad. Kinda like the Rhodia section (at Target) did before they stopped carrying their products. As for these colors… so gorgeous. Remember The X-Files episode “Pusher” where Pusher made some guy crash into a truck by repeating the word “Cerulean”?

I have been humming this song the entire time I wrote this blog. I hear you, John Oates!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    08/02/2012 9:35 pm

    Oh my goodness. I want every one. I’m so jealous of your Moleskine deal. The cheapest I can get Volant is if Barnes & Noble has a sale.

  2. Julia K permalink
    08/02/2012 9:40 pm

    Do you know if the CR Gibson can be purchased on the website. Not having any luck finding any.

  3. Brianne permalink
    08/02/2012 9:47 pm

    I tried the Green Lined journal ( but a different journal ) and the quality didn’t seem very good. They felt cheaply made and fell apart, binding pulling from the pages and the cover tearing, after only a couple of uses. I like the ethical way they create their journals but wish they weren’t so poorly made.

  4. princess coldheart permalink
    08/02/2012 10:10 pm

    ooh is the CR gibson from target or somewhere else? and i am assuming they have other colors…

  5. 08/03/2012 12:21 am

    @Princess – they are sold at Target. They had green, yellow and I think black. The greens were really nice. They have a lot of different kinds of journals. Some really nice leatherette ones too. Thanks for commenting, twin 🙂

    @Julia K – It doesn’t appear they have this particular Markings journal on the website. They don’t have it on Target’s website either. Probably will have to go into the store. Thank you or commenting.

    @Lisa – I got sooo lucky. I did a bit of a happy dance. Thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂

  6. 08/04/2012 4:59 am

    I don’t think Target in my area stocks Moleskin notebooks. I have never seem them there.

  7. MsLogica permalink
    08/04/2012 6:35 pm

    Haha, top marks for your terrible terrible pun in the title!

  8. 08/05/2012 7:32 pm

    Hahah!!!!

Leave a Reply

