Skip to content

Y’all, I am having a mint moment…

08/28/2012

It started last November when Babby went to Amish Country and returned with a Double Mint soap that ignited my quest for minty fulfillment. Since then I have tried many minty products and if you’re having a mint moment yourself (for whatever reason) here are a few I recom-mint! Oh that was just wrong.

1) EOS Sweet Mint Lip Balm – Before EOS came into my life, I was not very good at keeping track of lip balms, despite having a terrible addiction to buying them. I am always on the hunt for something a bit more glamorous than Carmex, that’s moisturizing and inexpensive. EOS Lip Balm in Sweet Mint is brilliant. I’ve seen chatter about the spherical shape being impractical for carrying it around, but I haven’t observed any difficulty. I snagged a stockpile of them over the summer thanks to the $2 peelies attached to blister packs. But even without the coupons, at $3, it’s not going to hurt your feelings.

2) C.O. Bigelow Mentha Vitamin Lotion – Bath and Bodyworks pretty much scares me. The aggressive tester wielding sales associates, the way everything smells fruity and vaguely stripperish and the fact I think the products are too expensive for the quality. Having said that, the men’s section of the store tends to have neat products. Like this minty lotion. The reviews seem to suggest this is a polarizing product; it does have a very strong mint scent. But if you’re having a mint moment like I am, well that’s exactly what you want. Being a lotion junkie/snob, I can’t say it’s the best lotion ever, in terms of doing its job as a lotion. However, as a mentha scent delivery device, it’s pretty spectacular.

3) Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint Liquid Soap – Oddly, it took being many years out of hippie college before I was able to appreciate the wonders of – as we call him around my house – Dr. Bananas. Seriously, have you seen the documentary? Kooky aside, this stuff is so amazing. Obviously, your fun to monkeys ratio may vary. It’s very potent. I use it for my face and once I did laundry with it. I prefer it as a face and body cleanser though.

4) Filthy Farmgirl Mile High Mint (Filthy Flight Attendant) – So I’m constantly yammering about this brand. Here’s what I said about this one: a strong peppermint and cocoa butter soap that is rapidly becoming my new favorite. I love the tingling properties of peppermint soap, but don’t always like smelling like toothpaste, which is why I love having the sweet mitigating properties of cocoa butter. yum!

5) Zum Bar Patchouli Mint – So lovely, but its loveliness is fleeting. Works great, lathers impressively and vanishes practically overnight, even when you allow it to dry completely between usage. So many things are working against this soap, and yet that scent is irresistible.

6) Lush Mint Julep lip scrub – This was a gift and so I can’t say I’d pay Lush prices for it, but the minty novelty of the product warrants its inclusion on the list. It’s effective, albeit slightly messy to use. If you’re a Lush addict, it’s definitely worth a try.

7) Lush Fair Trade Peppermint Foot Lotion – Most of the time I find Lush’s offerings to be a mixed bag. Some products work as advertised but not better than cheaper, more accessible options. Other products are HG (holy grail as they say in the beauty blog-o-sphere). I would put the foot lotion in the latter category. No offense to my feet, but this lotion is too spendy to use on them. I use it as a facial moisturizer. so yeah, after I’m done washing my face I’m like a human candy cane.

8) Jack Black Intensive Lip Therapy – The downside of lurking on beauty blogs is the desire of products that are pretty much only exciting to people who live to blog about beauty. On the other hand, it’s really great to discover there are people whose lip balm obsession rivals your own. If I were a one or two lip balm type of gal (which I most certainly am not) I would probably use Jack Black Intensive Lip Therapy (and EOS eggs) exclusively. Its chief selling points are the high SPF count and the fact it doesn’t have that horrible SPF taste. Whatever magic they’re using to mask the SPF icky taste is worth the $7 sticker shock. It’s also good for dudes since it doesn’t give off a lot of shine.

9) Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint lip balm – Surprisingly mild and packed with organic preachy goodness. I was a little surprised how subtle the mint scent is. Being a Dr. Bananas peppermint junkie, I had to grab a few of these when I noticed them on clearance at Target. It’s probably the least minty of all the mint lip balms I’ve tried…or maybe I’ve developed a tolerance for such things.

So now it’s your turn. Are you having a mint moment? Any product recommendations for me?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ulla permalink
    08/28/2012 11:03 pm

    Even though I do not have diapers to clean, my foray into hippie laundry detergent turned up Rockin Green.[http://rockingreensoap.com/] I just discovered the “Lavender Mint Revival” scent, which I tried on a total whim (because I don’t generally like lavender. The lavender is more of a hint, like vanilla is often used as a background note, and the mint is fresh and light and awesome. It almost makes me wish the scent didn’t come completely out by the end of a laundry cycle.

    If you get the chance to plant/infect an area with mint plants, I recommend chocolate mint. It makes a lovely tea (that we have been consuming in near excess amounts lately) and has a richer scent/flavor to it than classic spearmint. I’ve recently decided that my neighbors be damned, I’m going to plant it around my yard in an attempt to outcompete the weeds (mint, chocolate mint in particular, is aggressively invasive).

  2. Johana permalink
    08/29/2012 5:14 am

    Oooo I love Dr. Bronners, but EOS is lousy. If you like mint you should try Crushed Mint Pineapple by Buddha Balm. Their lip balm is the best out there.

  3. 08/29/2012 5:14 pm

    @Johana. I don’t really like anything pineapple at all. Are there any versions that are just mint?

  4. 08/29/2012 5:16 pm

    @Ulla Lavender Mint Revival sounds so fab. I have often thought about planting some mint, but I am not especially handy in the garden. It would be fun to have some fresh mint though.

  5. Cara W. permalink
    08/30/2012 2:17 pm

    Oh gross. That Lush lotion makes me gag. My coworker loves Lush and uses all their products, many of which she uses while sitting near me. She always smells like rancid bubblegum and peppermint. I am really sensitive to chemicals and smells. I wanted to like Lush because it’s organic and cruelty-free but going to a Lush store gave me a migraine and made me queasy. I can’t say much about the other products. I haven’t used them, but a big fat NO on anything by Lush.

Leave a Reply

