Skip to content

TRI-CONDEROGA PENCILS

11/12/2012

How can I pass up an item for $3.99 touting itself as THE WORLD’S MOST COMFORTABLE anything. Even if what followed was, “…bed of nails” or “…hot poker for eyes” my curiosity and cheapness would be actively engaged. Curiously, these triangle barrel pencils are not made in Ticonderoga, despite the play on the name. This is fortunate, because I mostly associate Ticonderoga with the farty smell of its factories and being home to yet another McDonald’s that doesn’t fill the french fry container ALL THE DAMN WAy TO THE TOP. If I have to eat my fries in a parking lot that smells like old man farts, I want that container BURSTING with fries. Don’t point to three sad bag fries and tell me that’s where my missing fries went. I want a FULL container and BAG FRIES.

These are not pleasant associations. It’s lot for a product name to overcome.

Generally speaking, I am not big on using pencils. If I use them at all it’s either these or these. Since I’m revising (a manuscript for publication in JUNE 2013!!!) I need something to mark up my pages. I don’t like red ink, so I find myself turning to pencils for the task. I tried my Sharpie liquid pencil, but they tend to get on my nerves, so I went in search of the perfect manuscript editing pencil. Which is to say, I found yet another seemingly productive way to procrastinate while trying to sort out some plotholes and characterization fails in the novel.


As mentioned, the pencils are triangle shaped. They possess a smooth, rubbery texture and are a bitch to sharpen. Even if using the free sharpener that came with the product. Sharpening woes aside, these pencils are comfortable. I don’t know if trademarked statement of comfort would hold up in court, but they do write nicely and didn’t fatigue my hand. I would need to try a lot more pencils before I would state emphatically these pencils to be, “the world’s most comfortable”. I will say the black barrel and gold lettering is infinitely stylish. I was considering getting a set of Rhodia pencils but I can’t justify the price point given my limited pencil use. These Dixon pencils give me Rhodia-wannabe styling and hand feel at Ticonderoga farty smell prices.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/12/2012 9:20 pm

    Great post! I wanna try these too.

    Oh, and sorry about the smell in the McD’s parking lot.

  2. 11/12/2012 10:06 pm

    @redlami – HA. I’m pretty sure it was the general smell of Ticonderoga and not anything you might have done. And you should definitely try these pencils. They are pretty nifty.

  3. John the Monkey permalink
    11/13/2012 10:26 am

    I like woodcase pencils – for me, the Faber Castell 9000, or Faber Castell “Grip” (triangular shape) are my favourites.

  4. 11/13/2012 4:25 pm

    @John the Monkey – what do you like about the Faber Castell 9000 pencils? I looked at those too and now I’m wondering if those might be even better for my general purposes.

  5. 11/14/2012 9:13 pm

    I use pencils all the time, so I’m partial to Rhodia pencils, but a good brand for the price is the Papermate Mirado classic- I classify a pencil as good if it sharpens easily (without the pencil getting eaten up by my sharpener) and if the erases cleanly removes marks. The Mirado does both. Thanks for sharing this with us.

  6. 11/15/2012 3:24 pm

    @Jenniesisler – I am really eager to try Rhodia pencils. I lust after them, but the price always makes me scoff. Mirado sounds like a good bet too. I will definitely look into them. Thanks for stopping by to comment.

  7. Ronnie permalink
    11/18/2012 2:42 pm

    There is another triangular style called ‘tri-write’ or something I believe, (if you haven’t seen them before). They are also comfortable but much easier to sharpen, as they are much slimmer and can be used in a regular sharpener. Might be worth checking out!

Trackbacks

  1. Penthusiasm! - Tiger Pens Blog

Leave a Reply

