Skip to content

YOU DROPPED A (LIP) BALM ON ME (PART I)

01/16/2013

lip gloss in jars

If you follow me on Instagram or Twitter (and if you don’t you should) you’re probably well acquainted with my quest for the perfect lip balm and my overall obsession with the product. This post was requested by several people and I finally got around writing it. It’s going to be divided in a couple of parts. The first of which is about those much maligned lip balms in jars, which tends to be my favorite lip balm delivery method.

TOP ROW:

Vaseline Lip Therapy Pink Bubbly – I’ve been trying to get my hands on these overseas only editions of Vaseline. I’m not sure why the brand doesn’t think folks in the US need these cute tins rather than the fugly miniaturized versions of the fugly full sized container, but whatever. Vaseline is not about that glamorous life. It’s just a cheap, hard-working product made with polarizing ingredients by dubious means. That said, its active ingredient does tend to handle whatever chapped, flaky hot mess your lips might be experiencing. For me, the tactile experience of petroleum jelly and its barfy taste is usually why I do not actively seek out Vaseline brand lip products.

MAC Lip Conditioner – I don’t think you can even get the jar version of this product anymore. I guess that lets you know how old mine is! I stumbled upon the never opened jar when I was sorting through my makeup last fall. I am not generally a fan of MAC skincare products or their add on products. There’s nothing particularly wrong with them; I just don’t think they’re worth the money. This particular product is good but not spectacular. I do like the packaging, which I gotta believe was chief among the reasons I paid $15 for a thimble of watered down, nicely scented Vaseline.

Blistex Lip Medex – In college there was a girl who sat in front of me who spent what seemed like an excessive amount of time extracting this tiny blue pot from her back pocket, dabbing her ring finger into the medicinally smell goo and dot dot dotting it on her lips. Three dots for the top lip and four for the bottom. I always wanted to ask but never did, why that was exactly. Anyhoo, I had a coupon, which is often how I find myself open to trying products that don’t have cute packaging or don’t seem very interesting. Now, I fully admit to being a major cheapskate about things, so feel free to judge me because it took a COUPON and ashtray change ($.39 to be exact) to consider giving Blistex its shot. Well, It’s pretty nice. Unlike Carmex, which acts like it’s giving you all this product, but then has a hollowed out bottom, Blistex actually gives you lots of product. More importantly, you don’t really need a lot of it to benefit. Sure there’s the stinging sensation that some might find annoying, but that’s how you know it’s working!

BOTTOM ROW:

Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1 – I tend to be resentful of HG (holy grail) cult beauty products, because I am just a bitter, pathetic hater. I just cannot believe they could possibly be as good as everyone claims and really those people are just kool-aid drinking fools whose fragile egos must be marinated in status products. And then I tried #1 lip balm, which wasn’t that spendy and is actually really nice. It isn’t my favorite, but it’s a very good moisturizing lip product. I like using it to prime my lips because it’s not super shiny. That’s probably chief among the things I like about it. This seems an odd thing to admit (given how much I love lip gloss): I do not like super shiny lip balm. If you want to treat yourself to a lip balm this would a good one to do so. I totally feel glamorous whenever I use it.

C.O. Bigelow Rose Salve – Bath and Bodyworks is forever running a “Buy 2 get 1 free” sale on their lip products, which is how I finally gave rose salve a try. Rose notes remind me too much of goths who used to douse themselves in tea rose body products. I was not prepared for rose salve to become one of my favorite products ever. I use it constantly on my hands, lips and even my face. I love the way it smells: earthy rather than artificial rose scent. And finally there’s a workaround the dreadful “vaseline” smell. And you know I love me some old timey packaging,

Elf Studio Conditioning Lip Balm w/ SPF – So many things working against this product: bulky packaging, chalky looking unflattering colors, a bizarre texture… And yet I’ve included it on the list because it really moisturizes. It took some trial and error before finding the least ugly color (Nice & Natural) and how to get the product to work (you have to really RUB that sonovabitch in), but now that I have it’s one of my can’t be without products. I love how it feels once it is applied properly. Still I would feel weird recommending this to anyone because I can’t imagine most people having the patience to make this product work.

So now it’s your turn…tell me about lip balms in a jar I should try

11 Comments leave one →
  1. princess coldheart permalink
    01/16/2013 7:13 pm

    i’ve said it once, and i’ll say it again! i ❤ dr. hauschka's lip balm pot: https://store.drhauschka.com/b2c/ecom/ecomEnduser/items/xt_itemDetailNF.aspx?siteId=1&itemNum=LB

    it does have a rosy scent though, but i like rosy scents. i love the consistency of it, not too thick or thin, and the fact that it's a bright orange color. it's also uber-natural and all that stuff, which i am drawn to. it's $$$ tho. if i used lip balm as often as you, i'd probably go broke, but since i only use it sometimes, the dr. works for me.

    i also have a rosebud salve, but it's not by c.o. bigelow: http://www.rosebudperfume.com/products-list

    i like it ok, but it tends to be too greasy for my tastes. however, after seeing their website, i must admit that i am enamored by the brambleberry and mocha rose lip balms.

    i also i like the perfumeria gal balm in violet: http://www.amazon.com/Perfumeria-Gal-Fragranced-Violet-53oz/dp/B0006NZDS0

    it's pretty good stuff. kind of similar to the rosebud salve, but less greasy. they have other flavors too, and amazing packaging!

  2. Kisha permalink
    01/16/2013 7:34 pm

    Korres Lip Butter and Body Shop’s Born Lippy. Both pretty good but not the most moisturizing (Korres is a bit better)

  3. 01/16/2013 11:10 pm

    My favorite lip-balm-in-a-jar (probably my least favorite delivery method, actually) is Nuxe – pricey, but smells so good, and is very moisturizing!

  4. 01/17/2013 12:29 am

    A little on the spendy side for me @$4.75, because I don’t think I’ve ever finished a lippy before losing it, but JAVABALM by BodyCoffee is a current favorite. The local earthy-crunchy store has it. Goes on very creamy, none of the scent/flavors are overpowering.

    Chicken Poop Lip Junk is another good one, and is about half the price, but they started adding more lavender to it. I’m not always in the mood for relaxing lips.

  5. 01/17/2013 4:01 pm

    @irishup – I am curious about this Chicken Poop Lip Junk. I worry about lavender too. I don’t know, the note doesn’t tend to agree with me. Plus I can’t help but associate it (unfairly) with “cranky baby scent” a la Johnson & Johnson.

  6. 01/17/2013 4:02 pm

    @Emi a Project Swatch – Nuxe is another one I’ve been circling, but the price makes me go, “hmmm, maybe next time.” But it would be worth trying because it sounds really wonderful.

  7. 01/17/2013 4:03 pm

    Korres looks intriguing. Omx. y’all are gonna make me spend up all my little monies on luxury lip balms 🙂

  8. 01/17/2013 4:04 pm

    @princesscoldheart – OMX. I’m totally trying Dr. H today! I remember you mentioning that you liked the product, so when I saw it on deep discount I snapped it up. I can’t wait to really spend time with the product. But at first blush I really like the scent and how light it feels on my lips.

  9. 01/17/2013 6:31 pm

    @Snarky’s – hah! my sis feels the same way. I just looked @ their website, and now they have lip glosses, sans lavender. Gonna hafta try that.

  10. MsLogica permalink
    01/19/2013 9:47 am

    I love lip balms! My favourite at the moment (I have 9 or so on the go) is Figs & Rouge pomengranate lip balm. http://www.figsandrouge.com/our-products/

    I started boycotting petroleum-based lip products just over two years ago, but I’m still experimenting with all the other products on the market!

  11. 02/28/2013 7:23 pm

    My favorite balm-in-jar is probably the new one by Nivea (they call it lip butter), it’s light moisturizing (feels a bit jelly) and not waxy at all. The bland one is good and basic and the raspberry rose smells super delicious.

Leave a Reply

